3D Winows Compiz problem

Compiz, KDE, Gnome, Fluxbox, etc...

Moderator: Moderators

dirt
Young Hen
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 19:22

Re: 3D Winows Compiz problem

Post by dirt » Sun May 18, 2008 2:07

chickpea wrote:Come on man, do a little searching. You need to be root to write to that directory.
how do you write to that dir, man. I can get to root but how do you add the fusion files. This noob needs some help.

dirt
Young Hen
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 19:22

Re: 3D Winows Compiz problem

Post by dirt » Sun May 18, 2008 2:26

I dont know what I did but after trying to install the compiz update I cant open ccsm altogether. My fire effects are all gone. What do I do now I dont wanna format my whole drive. What do I do now?

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: 3D Winows Compiz problem

Post by wolfden » Sun May 18, 2008 10:52

what did you do? If you couldn't figure out how to do the script file, how did u upgrade it?

dirt
Young Hen
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 19:22

Re: 3D Winows Compiz problem

Post by dirt » Sun May 18, 2008 12:17

I did not upgrade it. I got to the point where I just made the text file and was about to put it in usr/bin but the comp would not let me drag and drop it in there. It told me access denied how do I get that text file to go in the usr/bin?

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: 3D Winows Compiz problem

Post by wolfden » Sun May 18, 2008 12:22

you have to be root - you should already be root for the entire process

cp /my/spot/fusion... /usr/bin/fusion....

dirt
Young Hen
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 19:22

Re: 3D Winows Compiz problem

Post by dirt » Sun May 18, 2008 12:31

Im a noob at this stuff man this being my first foray into the linux world. That being said I thought I was in root. I pressed su and entered my password isnt that root?

dirt
Young Hen
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 19:22

Re: 3D Winows Compiz problem

Post by dirt » Sun May 18, 2008 13:40

Ok I used the kdesu command you mentioned to another person in your guide and I passed that part, hopefully all is well. I will let you know how it goes.

dirt
Young Hen
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 19:22

Re: 3D Winows Compiz problem

Post by dirt » Sun May 18, 2008 13:44

Dam I try to open ccsm and this is what is says.


KDEInit could not launch 'ccsm'.:
Could not find 'ccsm' executable.

Post Reply