3D Winows Compiz problem

Compiz, KDE, Gnome, Fluxbox, etc...

Moderator: Moderators

3D Winows Compiz problem

Postby dirt » Sat May 17, 2008 19:26

Whenever I go to enable the 3d windows in compiz it wont stay checked. How do I get this feature working, everything else in compiz is looking awesome so far.
dirt
Young Hen
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 19:22

Re: 3D Winows Compiz problem

Postby wolfden » Sat May 17, 2008 21:02

you probably need to update you compiz as it don't work in the older versions
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: 3D Winows Compiz problem

Postby dirt » Sat May 17, 2008 22:00

I have the mini 3.4, just got it last week, and if I do need to update it how do I go about doing that? If not do you have any suggestions because I do have the option to check it (its there) in ccsm but it doesnt stay checked.
dirt
Young Hen
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 19:22

Re: 3D Winows Compiz problem

Postby wolfden » Sat May 17, 2008 22:08

that's because in older versions it don't work, u need to update it.

I moved your post to proper forum, maybe if you had looked here first you would of seen the howto update compiz fusion sticky that is at the top of this forum

:)
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: 3D Winows Compiz problem

Postby dirt » Sat May 17, 2008 23:47

tyty Im gonna check it out. So you are saying that all I need to do is to update it even with 3.4 mini?
dirt
Young Hen
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 19:22

Re: 3D Winows Compiz problem

Postby wolfden » Sat May 17, 2008 23:59

getting redundant here, but for the 3rd time now, you need to update it as it don't work in older versions, all 3.4 stuff is old.


:wink:
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: 3D Winows Compiz problem

Postby dirt » Sun May 18, 2008 0:34

I have found youre update guide and everything was working great for it but when I came to the point where I need to put the folders I have downloaded to the usr/bin dir, it says that access is denied, how do I get past this point? Thank you btw, this code you have placed for the update is insane, how you did it is completely beyond me.
dirt
Young Hen
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 19:22

Re: 3D Winows Compiz problem

Postby chickpea » Sun May 18, 2008 0:37

Come on man, do a little searching. You need to be root to write to that directory.
chickpea
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1084
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 15:08
Location: Washington, DC

Re: 3D Winows Compiz problem

Postby wolfden » Sun May 18, 2008 0:51

sigh, that should be just a given, to be root to manipulate files and directories outside of your home, but I added it to the how to.

This is one reason why linux is so secure, nobody can just be in your system changing stuffs, they need root privileges.
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: 3D Winows Compiz problem

Postby dirt » Sun May 18, 2008 1:22

I am at home with a copy of sabayon that I freshly installed and it wont let me add files to my system. Anyway to get around this? I know that linux is secure but I am sure that I am the only one using this PC and it will still not give me access. Once again, I have downloaded the mini version and I cant put files where I want to, what do I do now? Its just me using this comp how can I get admin access to my system?
dirt
Young Hen
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 19:22

Next

Return to 3D Desktops and Window Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron