Interface and Themes

Compiz, KDE, Gnome, Fluxbox, etc...

Moderator: Moderators

Interface and Themes

Postby Sythyss » Wed May 07, 2008 23:12

Alrighty, so I'm new to sabayon...just wanted to ask a few initial questions/concerns.

1) The interface is very slow/sluggish. I think it's because of all the 3D stuff that's installed by default. How to go turning that down? I don't want to turn compiz completely off...I had it installed on other distros and it worked fine, but I guess this has a lot of extra stuff I didn't enable before.

2) The theme selection is different. I went to install my normal GTK theme I use, but it doesn't really work. it changes some things, but others it completely ignores (like text color) and looks weird. Is it clashing with some other theme manager?

3) Still haven't figured out how to install my normal mouse theme as well...

Thanks for any help.

EDIT: oh, also, I can't figure out how to get rid of the computer, home oflder, etc. on teh desktop. I used to jsut use the configuration editor to do it, but it doesn't seem to have any effect on sabayon.
Sythyss
Baby Hen

Re: Interface and Themes

Postby chickpea » Wed May 07, 2008 23:24

Sythyss wrote:Alrighty, so I'm new to sabayon...just wanted to ask a few initial questions/concerns.

1) The interface is very slow/sluggish. I think it's because of all the 3D stuff that's installed by default. How to go turning that down? I don't want to turn compiz completely off...I had it installed on other distros and it worked fine, but I guess this has a lot of extra stuff I didn't enable before.

2) The theme selection is different. I went to install my normal GTK theme I use, but it doesn't really work. it changes some things, but others it completely ignores (like text color) and looks weird. Is it clashing with some other theme manager?

3) Still haven't figured out how to install my normal mouse theme as well...

Thanks for any help.