strange behaviour regarding opengl

Compiz, KDE, Gnome, Fluxbox, etc...

Moderator: Moderators

strange behaviour regarding opengl

Postby tenorism » Mon Apr 14, 2008 21:05

When I login for the first time everything works ok and I get :
tenorism@underworld ~ $ glxinfo |grep OpenGL
OpenGL vendor string: ATI Technologies Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: ATI MOBILITY RADEON X600
OpenGL version string: 2.0.6747 (8.40.4)

But when I logout and login again (not reboot) opengl switches to Mesa
tenorism@underworld ~ $ glxinfo |grep OpenGL
OpenGL vendor string: Mesa project: http://www.mesa3d.org
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa GLX Indirect
OpenGL version string: 1.4 (1.5 Mesa 6.5.2)

And I kill the X server to work ok again
Any ideas?
I am using 3.4f mini
tenorism
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 19:08

Re: strange behaviour regarding opengl

Postby freeallbadgers » Tue Apr 15, 2008 20:21

what does eselect opengl list , return?
“I just finished compiling glibc and now it says there is a new update available? Arrgh! It never ends!!”
freeallbadgers
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 8:12
Location: Glasgow, UK.

Re: strange behaviour regarding opengl

Postby tenorism » Tue Apr 15, 2008 20:56

underworld tenorism # eselect opengl list
Available OpenGL implementations:
[1] ati *
[2] xorg-x11
[3] nvidia
tenorism
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 19:08

Re: strange behaviour regarding opengl

Postby freeallbadgers » Tue Apr 15, 2008 21:07

that IS weird
“I just finished compiling glibc and now it says there is a new update available? Arrgh! It never ends!!”
freeallbadgers
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 8:12
Location: Glasgow, UK.

Re: strange behaviour regarding opengl

Postby freeallbadgers » Tue Apr 15, 2008 21:09

what ati-drivers, xorg etc??
“I just finished compiling glibc and now it says there is a new update available? Arrgh! It never ends!!”
freeallbadgers
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 8:12
Location: Glasgow, UK.

Re: strange behaviour regarding opengl

Postby tenorism » Tue Jun 03, 2008 13:11

Sorry it took me so long to answer back. Usual thing. Went on a business trip and then forgot everything.
Solution to the problem was an upgrade to ati-drivers and everything works fine. :oops:
tenorism
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 19:08


Return to 3D Desktops and Window Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests