FIX:No fluent Compiz Fusion on Dell D630(Intel 965GM, X3100)

Compiz, KDE, Gnome, Fluxbox, etc...

Moderator: Moderators

FIX:No fluent Compiz Fusion on Dell D630(Intel 965GM, X3100)

Postby deadeyes » Fri Jan 25, 2008 14:15

Hi all!

I am a great Gentoo fan and some time ago I heard about Sabayon Linux and that it is based on Gentoo.
I downloaded the 3.4f version and installed it on a Dell Latitude D630 (Graphics card: Intel 965GM; X3100).

Sad enough Compiz Fusion locked up as soon as I moved a window or stuff like that.

Now I tried the 3.5 Loop 1 and Compiz Fusion did not lockup anymore.

BUT it was not working fluently.
For the people who have the same portable or the same problem with this graphics chip: Look here how I solved it:
http://opensource-openmind.blogspot.com/2008/01/compiz-fusion-on-sabayon-linux-35-loop.html (no banners, ads, ...)

I hope this will be of any help! (if so, please let me know)

I already donated when I tried 3.4f and I will certainly do it again.
Nice work guys!
Dell Latitude D630 ==> you can ask me if you got problems with this portable
deadeyes
Young Hen
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 10:04

Re: FIX:No fluent Compiz Fusion on Dell D630(Intel 965GM, X3100)

Postby wolfden » Fri Jan 25, 2008 14:51

so instead of having to click some off website for the solution

comment the line in your /etc/X11/xorg.conf
Code: Select all
Option "AccelMethod" "EXA"


than restart X
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: FIX:No fluent Compiz Fusion on Dell D630(Intel 965GM, X3100)

Postby deadeyes » Sat Jan 26, 2008 11:15

First of all I put the link because it is a blog dedicated to this portable.

Second because this is some kind of credits for my work(not specifically this one, but all of it).

Furthermore I think this should be added in the distro for a better experience for the user.
If you need more info about this portable, feel free to contact me.
Dell Latitude D630 ==> you can ask me if you got problems with this portable
deadeyes
Young Hen
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 10:04

Re: FIX:No fluent Compiz Fusion on Dell D630(Intel 965GM, X3100)

Postby wolfden » Sat Jan 26, 2008 11:58

deadeyes wrote:First of all I put the link because it is a blog dedicated to this portable.

Second because this is some kind of credits for my work(not specifically this one, but all of it).

Furthermore I think this should be added in the distro for a better experience for the user.
If you need more info about this portable, feel free to contact me.


We have a wiki for all that, which makes it all nice and centralized. People are not in the habit of chasing down links, especially to offsite websites. There is also trust and security issues when dealing with offsite stuff. Most people stick with the gentoo and sabayon documentation. Many people will use the wiki to document their hardware and fixes.

If you want to contribute, please feel free to use the wiki, we are always looking for content that can be added to benefit the community This thread will get buried in time, but the wiki will still have your information that is easily found.
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA


Return to 3D Desktops and Window Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron