Resolution Problems

Compiz, KDE, Gnome, Fluxbox, etc...

Moderator: Moderators

Resolution Problems

Postby crimsnalchmst » Sun Dec 30, 2007 7:37

I am new to Sabayon (and Debian) and am having some problems with my resolution. I installed Sabayon 3.4 Mini at a friends house on his monitor and it worked just fine, but when I got home the resolution was all messed up. I have a Radeon X1300 card with the drivers installed (but Catalyst doesn't want to work for some reason, though I know the drivers are working) and my resolution for my monitor is 1440x900, but 1152x864 works on it just as good. I need one of those two resolutions for it to display properly and Sabayon only allows me the resolution 1920x1080 or 1920x1200 (I can't remember which, I am currently on Ubuntu Live CD until I can fix this problem). The result is my desktop being on screen with a empty black area to the right and the desktop cut off on the left. I don't know how to fix this and I would appreciate the help.

Edit 1: Oh and I cannot change it on my monitor, everything must be done on the computer itself.
crimsnalchmst
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 7:22

Re: Resolution Problems

Postby wolfden » Sun Dec 30, 2007 8:14

have you visited the wiki for info?

http://wiki.sabayonlinux.org/index.php?title=Resolution

if you are booting the livecd use the cheat code res=1440x900
see wiki for cheat codes
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: Resolution Problems

Postby crimsnalchmst » Sun Dec 30, 2007 8:33

wolfden wrote:have you visited the wiki for info?

http://wiki.sabayonlinux.org/index.php?title=Resolution

if you are booting the livecd use the cheat code res=1440x900
see wiki for cheat codes


ok thanks for that but I am still left confused. I installed it on the hard drive, so I cant do your live cd idea, but I got down to the Screen section in what it told me to do for the hard drive and it says this

# **********************************************************************
# Screen sections.
# **********************************************************************

Section "Screen"

# The Identifier, Device and Monitor lines must be present

Identifier "Screen 1"
Device "VESA"
Monitor "Generic Monitor"
#Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"

# The favoured Depth and/or Bpp may be specified here

DefaultDepth 24

SubSection "Display"
Depth 8
ViewPort 0 0
#Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubsection

SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
ViewPort 0 0
#Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubsection

SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
ViewPort 0 0
#Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubsection


EndSection


Section "ServerLayout"
# The Identifier line must be present

Identifier "Main Layout"
Screen 0 "Screen 1"
InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Mouse2" "SendCoreEvents"
#InputDevice "Synaptics1" "SendCoreEvents"
#InputDevice "wacom1" "SendCoreEvents"
#InputDevice "wacom2" "SendCoreEvents"
#InputDevice "wacom3" "SendCoreEvents"
InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"

EndSection

Section "DRI"
Mode 0666
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
#Option "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection

and since I really am sort of new to Linux anyways, I really dont understand where to enter my resolution and such. And it confuses me that the code never mentions the resolution Sabayon is forcing me to have, 1920x1200.
crimsnalchmst
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 7:22

Re: Resolution Problems

Postby crimsnalchmst » Sun Dec 30, 2007 9:03

Also, I tried this and it did absolutely nothing. (probably making an idiot of myself posting this most likely stupid mistake on here, but oh well)


SubSection "Display"
Depth 8
ViewPort 0 0
#Modes "1440x900" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubsection

SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
ViewPort 0 0
#Modes "1440x900" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubsection

SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
ViewPort 0 0
#Modes "1440x900" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubsection


---And this part of the code may or may not be important, i dont know, but ill put it here

# **********************************************************************
# Monitor section
# **********************************************************************

# Any number of monitor sections may be present

Section "Monitor"

Identifier "Generic Monitor"
#Option "DPMS"

VertRefresh 43 - 60
HorizSync 28 - 80

EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# Graphics device section
# **********************************************************************

# Any number of graphics device sections may be present

Section "Device"
Identifier "VESA"
Driver "fglrx" # do not remove vesa
#Option "RenderAccel" "on"
#Option "XAANoOffscreenPixmaps"
#Option "BusType" "PCI"
#Option "ColorTiling" "on"
#Option "EnablePageFlip" "on"
EndSection
crimsnalchmst
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 7:22

Re: Resolution Problems

Postby wolfden » Sun Dec 30, 2007 9:32

ummm you still have # there - the # comments the line out so it's not read

relook at the wiki page and compare it to yours
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: Resolution Problems

Postby momocore » Sun Dec 30, 2007 18:56

Check out the wiki, read up on everything, and check out wolfdens guides as well.

The quick and dirty fix for your monitor:

in your xorg.conf change this:

Code: Select all
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
ViewPort 0 0
#Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubsection


to this:
Code: Select all
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
ViewPort 0 0
Modes "1440x900" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubsection


You can change all the depths if you like, but your default is set to 24. Note, too, that the '#' sign is removed from the Modes line.
momocore
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 13:27


Return to 3D Desktops and Window Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest