Beryl Installation

Compiz, KDE, Gnome, Fluxbox, etc...

Moderator: Moderators

Beryl Installation

Postby TheKid7 » Mon Nov 05, 2007 5:38

I recently installed Sabayon 3.4f KDE. I am a Newbie.

How do I install Beryl?

A search in Portato for "Beryl" came up with several files. Do I just install all of these files? Is there any order for the installations?

After the installation, is there any special thing(s) that need to be done to setup Beryl?

Thank you.
TheKid7
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 23:32

Re: Beryl Installation

Postby Stupot » Mon Nov 05, 2007 6:58

Why do you want to run Beryl when you have Compiz fusion.

If you are unaware, Compiz and beryl (re)merged together to form Compiz Fusion. I would try and use that if I were you.
Stupot
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1549
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:44
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA

Re: Beryl Installation

Postby wolfden » Mon Nov 05, 2007 7:21

wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: Beryl Installation

Postby avoura » Sat Dec 29, 2007 23:05

I only have Beryl on my system, how do I get Compiz Fusion?
I have tried to install using Kuroo, but I click on Check Installation, something happens and then the Start Installation button should be on but it is still greyed out.
Or should Kuroo be replaced with something too?
avoura
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 13:23
Location: London, UK

Re: Beryl Installation

Postby wolfden » Sat Dec 29, 2007 23:14

the first thing I would do is

emerge -C kuroo

it's junk

than I would follow the guide on installing compiz
viewtopic.php?f=53&t=9882

you'll probably have to kill off beryl-manager from starting up also
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: Beryl Installation

Postby avoura » Sun Dec 30, 2007 0:05

I entered emerge -C kuroo
and got the following message:

!!! ARCH is not set... Are you missing the '/etc/make.profile' symlink?
!!! Is the symlink correct? Is your portage tree complete?


How do I fix this?
avoura
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 13:23
Location: London, UK

Re: Beryl Installation

Postby wolfden » Sun Dec 30, 2007 0:59

There is a really neat feature on this site called Search - located in the upper right hand corner - try it out

viewtopic.php?f=50&t=10963&p=63515&hilit=ARCH+is+not+set#p63515
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: Beryl Installation

Postby avoura » Mon Dec 31, 2007 0:16

Kuroo is gone and I now have portage, except that I cannot find it. I searched for it on the menu and it is not found. So how do I now install software using Portage?
I shall have to do more research on this site, but I am wondering if maybe something went wrong and it did not get properly installed.
avoura
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 13:23
Location: London, UK

Re: Beryl Installation

Postby Scoob » Mon Dec 31, 2007 0:31

avoura wrote:Kuroo is gone and I now have portage, except that I cannot find it. I searched for it on the menu and it is not found. So how do I now install software using Portage?
I shall have to do more research on this site, but I am wondering if maybe something went wrong and it did not get properly installed.


It would be wise to check the wiki for answers to a lot of issues.

http://wiki.sabayonlinux.org/index.php?title=HOWTO:_Install_Packages_on_Sabayon_/_The_Complete_Portage_Guide
Scoob
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 13:14
Location: Edinburgh

Next

Return to 3D Desktops and Window Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest