Page 1 of 1

Compiz stops other applications working!

PostPosted: Fri Sep 28, 2007 19:04
by darkscot
Using 64bit 3.4e, everything WAS working OK. Now when I use Compiz I get two compiz icons on the task bar, the main menu doesn't work, Konqueror won't open (either from the icon or the console). None of the icons on the taskbar work.
If I use Metissa or Fluxbox then everything is fine.
Any suggestions?

Re: Compiz stops other applications working!

PostPosted: Fri Sep 28, 2007 20:13
by darkscot
Now I am confused! I tried various things (including wolfden's update compiz) but to no avail. So i decided just to load the standard KDE 3.5 desktop without the 3D effects. However, it loaded WITH the 3D effects AND everything works? :shock:
Oh well, at least it is working.

Re: Compiz stops other applications working!

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2007 5:55
by lucknuts
Same thing happened to me, I couldn't find any solution.

So I installed the 32 bit. This is like my 7th time screwing with things.

Now i'm having compiz problems on this...looking for a solution right now as a matter of fact.

Re: Compiz stops other applications working!

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2007 9:01
by Ace (SWE)
I'm having this problem too, worked perfectly when i ran 3.4e x86_64. With 3.4f x86 I'm getting the exact same problem, would upgrade to x86_64 again if it wheren't for steam not working in x86_64 (or it could just be me), i'm downloading 3.4f x86_64 right now to see if it's specific to the x86 dist

Re: Compiz stops other applications working!

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2007 10:33
by darkscot
The problem has reappeared with me and now happens almost every time boot up.
I am also downloading 3.4f 64 at the moment and will do a complete re-install to see if that fixes it. In the meantime my 'solution' to the problem has been to switch to Gnome dektop. That does not seem (so far) to have a problem.

Re: Compiz stops other applications working!

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 6:15
by lucknuts
darkscot wrote:The problem has reappeared with me and now happens almost every time boot up.
I am also downloading 3.4f 64 at the moment and will do a complete re-install to see if that fixes it. In the meantime my 'solution' to the problem has been to switch to Gnome dektop. That does not seem (so far) to have a problem.



I simply switched to the 32bit sabayon. I had 64-bit for the longest time although my only problem was flash. COmpiz was also, but I cant tell you if your having the same problems as you would with the 32bit.

Your best bet it to uninstall and reinstall compiz.

Then update python.

Just follow this http://www.sabayonlinux.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=10809 *and read carefully

Re: Compiz stops other applications working!

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 6:49
by darkscot
lucknuts wrote:I simply switched to the 32bit sabayon. I had 64-bit for the longest time although my only problem was flash. COmpiz was also, but I cant tell you if your having the same problems as you would with the 32bit.
Your best bet it to uninstall and reinstall compiz.
Then update python.
Just follow this http://www.sabayonlinux.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=10809 *and read carefully

Thanks for the advice but I have only just finished downloading the 64 bit 3.4f so I am going to do a complete re-install with that and see what happens. I have also found that Gnome is a LOT more stable than KDE, though it does have glitches occasionally (such as not opening the main menu and refusing to shut down).
Actually I am quite surprised how good the latest Gnome is. It is probably two years since I last used Gnome in a serious way and it has come on a lot.