Page 1 of 1

Still can't use Compiz. [Solved]

Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2007 1:56
by Ric
With Sabayon 3.3, I could use Beryl just fine. ( Acceleration manager = auto)
Now with Sabayon 3.4e, I get a blank screen if I use XGL and lockups if I use Aiglx.
I have downgraded nvidia as per http://www.sabayonlinux.org/forum/viewt ... f=5&t=8944 ( that help stability!! )
xorg.93.log shows :
(II) NVIDIA(0): Setting mode "nvidia-auto-select"
(II) Loading extension NV-GLX
(II) NVIDIA(0): NVIDIA 3D Acceleration Architecture Initialized
(II) NVIDIA(0): Using the NVIDIA 2D acceleration architecture
..so I do have 3d. ( Blender works... whew.) , but if I use teminal; 'compiz --replace' , I get a white screen.
What else can I try?

Re: Still can't use Compiz.

Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2007 3:04
by navman

Re: Still can't use Compiz. (solved)

Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 20:16
by Ric
I have tried that driver and it was a big improvement. Thanks.
But the root of my problem was my bios settings. When I installed my Nvidia 7300, the bios got set to PCI , this card is a PCI-Express.
Now I have set the Bios properly it seems solid :)