Net not starting at boot. [Solved]

Issues Related to Networking (Wired and Wireless)

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Red Knuckles
Growing Hen
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 3:16
Location: Colorado, USA

Net not starting at boot. [Solved]

Post by Red Knuckles » Sat Aug 04, 2007 21:32

After doing:

Code: Select all

# zcat /proc/config.gz > /usr/src/config
# genkernel --kernel-config=/usr/src/config --menuconfig --bootloader=grub --gensplash=sabayon all 
# eix-sync && layman -S
# emerge -e system || until emerge --resume --skipfirst; do emerge --resume --skipfirst; done
# update [about 1/2 done 300 of 595 packages emerged
when I reboot Net doesn't work. I can get it to work by setting static IP with 'net-setup' but I have do do so every time I reboot. Is there any way to make this permenent? Is there any way to get DHCP to work again? I am not using KNetworkManager right now. Here's '/etc/conf.d/net':

# This network configuration was written by net-setup.
iface_eth0="192.168.15.3 broadcast 192.168.15.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
gateway="eth0/192.168.15.1"

I've tried setting /etc/conf.d/net' to:

# This network configuration was written by ME.
config_eth0="192.168.15.3 broadcast 192.168.15.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
routes="eth0/192.168.15.1"

So I'm either not doing it right or another file needs changing??? :?: :?: :?:
Last edited by Red Knuckles on Fri Aug 10, 2007 0:57, edited 1 time in total.
SL 3.4a AMD64, Gentoo2007.0 AMD64 - ASUS M2NPV-VM - AMD64 X2 4800+ 2.5 Ghz - 4X1GB DDR2 800 - GeForce 6150 256MB - 2X320GB

navman
Growing Hen
Posts: 147
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 20:51

Post by navman » Sat Aug 04, 2007 22:18

why don't you try setting up your network according to the gentoo handbook

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Post by wolfden » Sun Aug 05, 2007 3:54

more than likely you updated your dhcp, check your version, anything greater than 3.0.6 wont work with knetworkmanager

http://www.sabayonlinux.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=8695

Red Knuckles
Growing Hen
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 3:16
Location: Colorado, USA

Post by Red Knuckles » Fri Aug 10, 2007 0:57

navman wrote:why don't you try setting up your network according to the gentoo handbook
You're right. Kinda of a stupid post on my part. RTFM Red! The answers are here:

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/h ... t=4&chap=1

for anyone as inclined, as I sometimes am, of forgetting to search or simply look in Handbook or Wiki. In defense I was involved with a number of package management issues as well as my first install of Gentoo at the time. Installing Gentoo is, well, different, and arguably more work than some flavors or BSD. Great learning experience though. I've only begun...
SL 3.4a AMD64, Gentoo2007.0 AMD64 - ASUS M2NPV-VM - AMD64 X2 4800+ 2.5 Ghz - 4X1GB DDR2 800 - GeForce 6150 256MB - 2X320GB

Red Knuckles
Growing Hen
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 3:16
Location: Colorado, USA

Post by Red Knuckles » Fri Aug 10, 2007 1:05

wolfden wrote:more than likely you updated your dhcp, check your version, anything greater than 3.0.6 wont work with knetworkmanager

http://www.sabayonlinux.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=8695
Correct. I have dhcp 3.1.0 now and dhcpcd 3.1.3 now. DHCP is convenient but am I imagining that my 'net works faster with static IP and DNS set to 4.2.2.3 or 4.2.2.4 [Comcast Broadband Colorado, USA]? Will the dhcp knetworkmanager conflict be fixed? Probably, I would think.
SL 3.4a AMD64, Gentoo2007.0 AMD64 - ASUS M2NPV-VM - AMD64 X2 4800+ 2.5 Ghz - 4X1GB DDR2 800 - GeForce 6150 256MB - 2X320GB

Post Reply