Connecting to wifi with WiFi Radar

Issues Related to Networking (Wired and Wireless)

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
skippy204
Baby Hen
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 19:17

Connecting to wifi with WiFi Radar

Post by skippy204 » Mon Apr 04, 2016 19:57

Greetings.

Here is my situation. I've a fresh install of Sabayon. Installed about a month ago, everything is up to date.

When running KDE I can connect to wireless networks with no problem.

However I want to use Enlightenment. Thus I started looking for how to go about connecting to and managing wifi connections using e16 and e17.

I found WiFi Radar, but so far I can't get it to work.

So first thing is - how can I get wifi without KDE. I'm not attached to any one method.

1. Can I invoke the KDE wifi manager from Enlightenment?
2. Can I get Wi-Fi Radar to work?
3. What other method can someone suggest?

With Wi-Fi Radar, here is where it's hanging up. I run the program from a terminal as root. I can see the networks. When I click on a network and tell it to connect I get this error message in the terminal window:

Code: Select all

connect_to_network: DHCP client not found, please set this in the preferences.
Checking the preferences, this is what I have there.

Preferences -> DHCP

Code: Select all

command = /sbin/dhcpcd
arguments = -D -o -i dhcp_client -t %(timeout)s
kill aruguments = -k
DHCP connect timeout = 30
PID file = /etc/dhcpc/dhcpcd-%(interface)s.pid
Suggestions? Observations? Brilliance?

Thanks much!
Skippy

User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
Posts: 3251
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Connecting to wifi with WiFi Radar

Post by sabayonino » Mon Apr 04, 2016 20:07

Hi !

is dhcpcd service running ?

Code: Select all

# systemctl start dhcpcd
If all goes fine

Code: Select all

# systemctl enable dhcpcd
..to enable dhcp at boot

:roll:

PS : Does NetworkManager work with WifiRadar ? :cyclops:
[Che Cos'è Il Calcolo Distribuito (BOINC)

BOINC ready ! Sabayon+BOINC = BILD ,my Sabayon spin :cyclops: - Ready to crunch for the Science everywhere :)

skippy204
Baby Hen
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 19:17

Re: Connecting to wifi with WiFi Radar

Post by skippy204 » Mon Apr 04, 2016 20:14

Well this is odd.

Code: Select all

# systemctl start dhcpcd
gives me

Code: Select all

failed to start dhcpcd.service: unit dhcpcd.service failed to load: no such file or directory.
Wifi works with KDE. Unless KDE uses something different for the the same purpose?

And thanks for the response.

skippy204
Baby Hen
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 19:17

Re: Connecting to wifi with WiFi Radar

Post by skippy204 » Mon Apr 04, 2016 20:18

A look in Rigo tells me that dhcpcd is not installed.

That probably has something to do with it. I "thought/assumed" dhcpcd would be part of the base system. Looks like I was wrong.

And that's why you don't assume. :)

I'm going to install dhcpcd and then see what happens.

User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
Posts: 3251
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Connecting to wifi with WiFi Radar

Post by sabayonino » Mon Apr 04, 2016 20:19

try to install

net-misc/dhcpcd
[Che Cos'è Il Calcolo Distribuito (BOINC)

BOINC ready ! Sabayon+BOINC = BILD ,my Sabayon spin :cyclops: - Ready to crunch for the Science everywhere :)

skippy204
Baby Hen
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 19:17

Re: Connecting to wifi with WiFi Radar

Post by skippy204 » Mon Apr 04, 2016 21:11

Progress.

Yes, I needed to install dhcpcd. Now that is working.

Next error.

When attempting to connect to a network the GUI gives the message "Could not get IP address."

In the terminal the only information I get is

Code: Select all

unknown option '-i'
I'm thinking I need to do something with the dhcpcd options. Will start investigating that.

User avatar
mudler
Simple Hen
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2014 1:29

Re: Connecting to wifi with WiFi Radar

Post by mudler » Tue Apr 19, 2016 17:55

the enlightenment connection manager is "connman", but i'd suggest you just to run nm-applet and keep NetworkManager.
Otherwise why just not use wicd? :)
Image

skippy204
Baby Hen
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 19:17

Re: Connecting to wifi with WiFi Radar

Post by skippy204 » Wed Apr 27, 2016 17:52

Hello and thank you for the information and suggestions. I'm currently looking into each of those options.

As of now I still haven't gotten any of them to work - but I am going to do more experimenting before coming back with questions. It could be user error. That sort of thing has happened once or twice before. :D

Post Reply