ipv6 disable? [Solved]

Issues Related to Networking (Wired and Wireless)

Moderator: Moderators

ipv6 disable? [Solved]

Postby Duskao » Mon Aug 09, 2010 19:37

I'm trying to figure out how to disable ipv6 with sabayon. Last I heard it's in the kernel now and I have noticed vast difference with firefox and disabling ipv6 within about:config. So I have been looking all over the place on sabayon and gentoo of how to disable it, but I have come up nearly empty handed. I tried blacklisting it. Didn't do anything. I'm also new to sabayon and gentoo so please be gentle :D.

Duskao
Duskao
Young Hen

Re: ipv6 disable?

Postby Stupot » Mon Aug 09, 2010 21:00

Where else do you need to disable IPv6 besides firefox?

Not all applications work the same. Don't get me wrong, you can try and look into this issue and make changes to your hearts desire. It is linux after all. But it doesn't sound like you're having any issues or have any reasoning for you want to disable IPv6 system wide, other than it made a difference for Firefox.

I can't recommend removing IPv6 support from the kernel. I would avoid recompiling the kernel at all until you are much more familiar with Sabayon and Gentoo.

I know I didn't give you the answer you were looking for, perhaps somebody will. But in the meantime, do a little more research on the subject and perhaps you'll decide this isn't really what you wanted to do anyway.
Stupot
Sagely Hen

Postby Duskao » Mon Aug 09, 2010 22:13