Page 1 of 2

Connect to the internet *any way possbile* [Solved]

Posted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 15:19
by dE_logics
I have an ADSL connection, and wanna connect graphically using the KDE network manager. Apparently the Gentoo way is not working (using rp-pppoe) and I'm trying out other ways which also do not work, and so I've decided that let's just connect to the Internet first in any way....

I made a DSL connection, when the lan gets connected, I see no option (click on the network manager icon in the system) to connect using that connection.... I just get auto.

This is the same with every distro... Gentoo, Kubuntu, Opensuse etc... all running KDE, in the other hand, Gnome has no such problems in any distro.

Re: Connect to the internet graphically using KDE

Posted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 15:50
by Fitzcarraldo
I have a broadband modem entry, an Ethernet network (static IP) entry , and Auto eth0 (dynamic IP) entry listed and selectable. I added the first two entries using Manage Connections.... Below are the packages I have installed:

Code: Select all

# eix -I networkmanager
[I] kde-misc/knetworkmanager
     Available versions:  (4) [M](~)4.4.0_p20100331 (~)9999[1]
        {aqua consolekit debug kdeenablefinal +networkmanager wicd}
     Installed versions:  9999(4)[1](15:17:54 26/06/10)(consolekit networkmanager -aqua -debug -kdeenablefinal -wicd)
     Homepage:            http://kde.org/
     Description:         KDE frontend for NetworkManager

[I] net-misc/networkmanager
     Available versions:  0.6.6 (~)0.7.1-r3 0.7.1-r6 (~)0.7.1_p20090824 0.7.2 0.7.2-r1[1] (~)0.8 (~)0.8-r1 (~)0.8-r1[1] **0.8.0_pre20091105[1] {avahi bluetooth connection-sharing crypt debug dhclient dhcpcd doc gnome gnutls nss resolvconf}
     Installed versions:  0.8-r1[1](14:20:05 22/06/10)(avahi bluetooth dhclient gnutls nss -connection-sharing -dhcpcd -doc -resolvconf)
     Homepage:            http://www.gnome.org/projects/NetworkManager/
     Description:         Network configuration and management in an easy way. Desktop environment independent.

[I] net-misc/networkmanager-vpnc
     Available versions:  (~)0.6.4_p20070621 (~)0.7.1 (~)0.7.2 [M](~)0.7.999!t (~)0.8!t {crypt debug doc gnome}
     Installed versions:  0.8!t(14:20:27 22/06/10)(-gnome)
     Homepage:            http://www.gnome.org/projects/NetworkManager/
     Description:         NetworkManager VPNC plugin

[1] "sabayon" /var/lib/layman/sabayon

Found 3 matches.
What were the steps you used to add the DSL connection?

Re: Connect to the internet graphically using KDE

Posted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 17:32
by dE_logics
ADSL and Gentoo/Sabayon is in a bad state. I thought the networking of Sabayon and Gentoo will be the same, but that does not appear so and that's cause that Gentoo trick wont work.

In my current setup (using baselayout 2) this is my /etc/conf.d/net -

Code: Select all

config_ppp0=( "ppp" )
link_ppp0="/dev/ttyACM0"
plugins_ppp0=("dhcpc")
config_eth0=( "adsl")
With rp-pppoe installed. I did the setup using rp-pppoe. Officially Gentoo should not require rp-pppoe, but I'm using baselayout 2, and I heard that does not support ADSL without rp-pppoe. The official way (as in Gentoo handbook) never works --

Code: Select all

config_eth0=( null ) (Specify your ethernet interface)
config_ppp0=( "ppp" )
link_ppp0="eth0" (Specify your ethernet interface)
plugins_ppp0=( "pppoe" )
username_ppp0='user'
password_ppp0='password'
pppd_ppp0=(
       "noauth"
       "defaultroute"
       "usepeerdns"
       "holdoff 3"
       "child-timeout 60"
       "lcp-echo-interval 15"
       "lcp-echo-failure 3"
       noaccomp noccp nobsdcomp nodeflate nopcomp novj novjccomp
)

depend_ppp0() {
    need net.eth0
}
Ofcourse I know how to remove the comments and all.

Re: Connect to the internet *any way possbile*

Posted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 17:44
by dE_logics
Question changed major.

Re: Connect to the internet *any way possbile*

Posted: Wed Jul 14, 2010 6:34
by dE_logics
no Sabayon user uses Internet though ADSL?

Apparently Sabayon networking is wayyyy different than that of Gentoo's. They have mixed it up with plugins and all to make it unusable! None of the procedures of Gentoo work on Sabayon... even DHCP does not work, eth0 always remains 'inactive' no matter what I do, it does not even listen to conf.d/net... it does something on it's own!

Re: Connect to the internet *any way possbile*

Posted: Wed Jul 14, 2010 7:26
by Thev00d00
Maybe you can explain further what you have done?

Remember you will need to remove or disable networkmanger to use gentoo networking.

Also of it works in gnome why not just rub Nm-applet from kde?

Re: Connect to the internet *any way possbile*

Posted: Wed Jul 14, 2010 8:54
by dE_logics
Yeah, I remember. I used the same Gentoo way to connect to the Internet when installing Sabayon minimal and it was a success.

They have mixed this KDE version such that the networking is almost unusable. After removing the so called 'ifplugd' which appears major incompatible with Gentoo's networking system, the networking subsystem has started to listen to the configs in conf.d/net, but as always it's not working. So I'll try removing networkmanager.

Re: Connect to the internet *any way possbile*

Posted: Wed Jul 14, 2010 10:21
by dE_logics
No that did not work.

Re: Connect to the internet *any way possbile*

Posted: Wed Jul 14, 2010 14:36
by dE_logics
Ok, solved.

You DO NOT have to configure with pppconf... if you did so, delete that connection that you made and use the Gentoo technique.

Of course remove all sorta fancy stuff from startup and that network plugin that I stated before.

Re: Connect to the internet *any way possbile* [Solved]

Posted: Wed Jul 14, 2010 17:37
by Fitzcarraldo