Connect to the internet *any way possbile* [Solved]

Issues Related to Networking (Wired and Wireless)

Moderator: Moderators

Connect to the internet *any way possbile* [Solved]

Postby dE_logics » Tue Jul 13, 2010 15:19

I have an ADSL connection, and wanna connect graphically using the KDE network manager. Apparently the Gentoo way is not working (using rp-pppoe) and I'm trying out other ways which also do not work, and so I've decided that let's just connect to the Internet first in any way....

I made a DSL connection, when the lan gets connected, I see no option (click on the network manager icon in the system) to connect using that connection.... I just get auto.

This is the same with every distro... Gentoo, Kubuntu, Opensuse etc... all running KDE, in the other hand, Gnome has no such problems in any distro.
Last edited by dE_logics on Tue Jul 13, 2010 17:43, edited 1 time in total.
But I'm a rooster!
Now don't get me wrong!!
dE_logics
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 13:18

Re: Connect to the internet graphically using KDE

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Tue Jul 13, 2010 15:50

I have a broadband modem entry, an Ethernet network (static IP) entry , and Auto eth0 (dynamic IP) entry listed and selectable. I added the first two entries using Manage Connections.... Below are the packages I have installed:

Code: Select all
# eix -I networkmanager
[I] kde-misc/knetworkmanager
     Available versions:  (4) [M](~)4.4.0_p20100331 (~)9999[1]
        {aqua consolekit debug kdeenablefinal +networkmanager wicd}
     Installed versions:  9999(4)[1](15:17:54 26/06/10)(consolekit networkmanager -aqua -debug -kdeenablefinal -wicd)
     Homepage:            http://kde.org/
     Description:         KDE frontend for NetworkManager

[I] net-misc/networkmanager
     Available versions:  0.6.6 (~)0.7.1-r3 0.7.1-r6 (~)0.7.1_p20090824 0.7.2 0.7.2-r1[1] (~)0.8 (~)0.8-r1 (~)0.8-r1[1] **0.8.0_pre20091105[1] {avahi bluetooth connection-sharing crypt debug dhclient dhcpcd doc gnome gnutls nss resolvconf}
     Installed versions:  0.8-r1[1](14:20:05 22/06/10)(avahi bluetooth dhclient gnutls nss -connection-sharing -dhcpcd -doc -resolvconf)
     Homepage:            http://www.gnome.org/projects/NetworkManager/
     Description:         Network configuration and management in an easy way. Desktop environment independent.

[I] net-misc/networkmanager-vpnc
     Available versions:  (~)0.6.4_p20070621 (~)0.7.1 (~)0.7.2 [M](~)0.7.999!t (~)0.8!t {crypt debug doc gnome}
     Installed versions:  0.8!t(14:20:27 22/06/10)(-gnome)
     Homepage:            http://www.gnome.org/projects/NetworkManager/
     Description:         NetworkManager VPNC plugin

[1] "sabayon" /var/lib/layman/sabayon

Found 3 matches.

What were the steps you used to add the DSL connection?
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7984
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Connect to the internet graphically using KDE

Postby dE_logics » Tue Jul 13, 2010 17:32

ADSL and Gentoo/Sabayon is in a bad state. I thought the networking of Sabayon and Gentoo will be the same, but that does not appear so and that's cause that Gentoo trick wont work.

In my current setup (using baselayout 2) this is my /etc/conf.d/net -

Code: Select all
config_ppp0=( "ppp" )
link_ppp0="/dev/ttyACM0"
plugins_ppp0=("dhcpc")
config_eth0=( "adsl")


With rp-pppoe installed. I did the setup using rp-pppoe. Officially Gentoo should not require rp-pppoe, but I'm using baselayout 2, and I heard that does not support ADSL without rp-pppoe. The official way (as in Gentoo handbook) never works --

Code: Select all
config_eth0=( null ) (Specify your ethernet interface)
config_ppp0=( "ppp" )
link_ppp0="eth0" (Specify your ethernet interface)
plugins_ppp0=( "pppoe" )
username_ppp0='user'
password_ppp0='password'
pppd_ppp0=(
       "noauth"
       "defaultroute"
       "usepeerdns"
       "holdoff 3"
       "child-timeout 60"
       "lcp-echo-interval 15"
       "lcp-echo-failure 3"
       noaccomp noccp nobsdcomp nodeflate nopcomp novj novjccomp
)

depend_ppp0() {
    need net.eth0
}


Ofcourse I know how to remove the comments and all.
But I'm a rooster!
Now don't get me wrong!!
dE_logics
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 13:18

Re: Connect to the internet *any way possbile*

Postby dE_logics » Tue Jul 13, 2010 17:44

Question changed major.
But I'm a rooster!
Now don't get me wrong!!
dE_logics
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 13:18

Re: Connect to the internet *any way possbile*

Postby dE_logics » Wed Jul 14, 2010 6:34

no Sabayon user uses Internet though ADSL?

Apparently Sabayon networking is wayyyy different than that of Gentoo's. They have mixed it up with plugins and all to make it unusable! None of the procedures of Gentoo work on Sabayon... even DHCP does not work, eth0 always remains 'inactive' no matter what I do, it does not even listen to conf.d/net... it does something on it's own!
But I'm a rooster!
Now don't get me wrong!!
dE_logics
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 13:18

Re: Connect to the internet *any way possbile*

Postby Thev00d00 » Wed Jul 14, 2010 7:26

Maybe you can explain further what you have done?

Remember you will need to remove or disable networkmanger to use gentoo networking.

Also of it works in gnome why not just rub Nm-applet from kde?
Image
Please report Bugs on the Bugzilla, not forum
Please Adopt an Unanswered thread
Website / Blog : v00d00.net
twitter: Follow Me
G+: Circle Me
Thev00d00
Generally Awesome (tm)
 
Posts: 1472
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 15:52
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Connect to the internet *any way possbile*

Postby dE_logics » Wed Jul 14, 2010 8:54

Yeah, I remember. I used the same Gentoo way to connect to the Internet when installing Sabayon minimal and it was a success.

They have mixed this KDE version such that the networking is almost unusable. After removing the so called 'ifplugd' which appears major incompatible with Gentoo's networking system, the networking subsystem has started to listen to the configs in conf.d/net, but as always it's not working. So I'll try removing networkmanager.
But I'm a rooster!
Now don't get me wrong!!
dE_logics
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 13:18

Re: Connect to the internet *any way possbile*

Postby dE_logics » Wed Jul 14, 2010 10:21

No that did not work.
But I'm a rooster!
Now don't get me wrong!!
dE_logics
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 13:18

Re: Connect to the internet *any way possbile*

Postby dE_logics » Wed Jul 14, 2010 14:36

Ok, solved.

You DO NOT have to configure with pppconf... if you did so, delete that connection that you made and use the Gentoo technique.

Of course remove all sorta fancy stuff from startup and that network plugin that I stated before.
But I'm a rooster!
Now don't get me wrong!!
dE_logics
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 13:18


Next

Return to Networking and Wireless

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest