pppoe at start up [Solved]

Issues Related to Networking (Wired and Wireless)

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
zhidayat
Young Hen
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 8:06

pppoe at start up [Solved]

Post by zhidayat » Mon Jun 21, 2010 22:29

Hi,
I have been able to to connect to the internet using pppoe-setup. Is there any way to make the connection work without typing pppoe-start as root after boot? I find this thread
http://forum.sabayon.org/viewtopic.php? ... poe#p81443
but the link inside it is not exist anymore. Thank you in advance.
Last edited by zhidayat on Thu Jun 24, 2010 20:04, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
Posts: 8091
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: pppoe at start up

Post by Fitzcarraldo » Mon Jun 21, 2010 23:14

Don't use it myself, but it's going to be something like:

Code: Select all

# rc-update add rp-pppoe default
and then reboot to check it runs automatically.

zhidayat
Young Hen
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 8:06

Re: pppoe at start up

Post by zhidayat » Tue Jun 22, 2010 6:18

Gives error

Code: Select all

rc-update: service `rp-pppoe' does not exist

User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
Posts: 8091
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: pppoe at start up

Post by Fitzcarraldo » Tue Jun 22, 2010 10:16

Have a look in /etc/init.d/ to see what you've got. Try:

Code: Select all

rc-update add net.ppp0 default
See the ADSL and PPPoE section in Gentoo Linux - Home Router Guide.

zhidayat
Young Hen
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 8:06

Re: pppoe at start up

Post by zhidayat » Thu Jun 24, 2010 5:03

it still cannot work. I tried

Code: Select all

/etc/init.d/net.ppp0 start
to whether the ppp0 has been started after reboot or not and I got

Code: Select all

* WARNING: net.ppp0 has already started, but is inactive

User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
Posts: 8091
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: pppoe at start up

Post by Fitzcarraldo » Thu Jun 24, 2010 11:46

Trouble is, I don't use this dial-up stuff myself, so it's difficult to advise you. I do use a couple of broadband modems but with NetworkManager, so I don't have to mess around with pppoe-start and all that stuff.

Anyway, as I'm not an expert on pppoe, a different approach you could try would simply be to automate the entry of the command pppoe-start at start-up. You can do that by adding it to the file /etc/conf.d/local as follows:

Code: Select all

# Here is where you can put anything you need to start
# that there is not an init script for.

local_start() {
        # This is a good place to load any misc programs
        # on startup (use &>/dev/null to hide output)

        pppoe-start

        # We should always return 0
        return 0
}

local_stop() {
        # This is a good place to unload any misc.
        # programs you started above.

        # We should always return 0
        return 0
}
Give that a try to see if it does what you want.

zhidayat
Young Hen
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 8:06

Re: pppoe at start up

Post by zhidayat » Thu Jun 24, 2010 20:04

It works :D
Thanks a alot Fitzcarraldo ...

Post Reply