pppoe at start up [Solved]

Issues Related to Networking (Wired and Wireless)

Moderator: Moderators

pppoe at start up [Solved]

Postby zhidayat » Mon Jun 21, 2010 22:29

Hi,
I have been able to to connect to the internet using pppoe-setup. Is there any way to make the connection work without typing pppoe-start as root after boot? I find this thread
viewtopic.php?f=52&t=14184&p=81443&hilit=pppoe#p81443
but the link inside it is not exist anymore. Thank you in advance.
Last edited by zhidayat on Thu Jun 24, 2010 20:04, edited 1 time in total.
zhidayat
Young Hen
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 8:06

Re: pppoe at start up

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Mon Jun 21, 2010 23:14

Don't use it myself, but it's going to be something like:

Code: Select all
# rc-update add rp-pppoe default

and then reboot to check it runs automatically.
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7985
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: pppoe at start up

Postby zhidayat » Tue Jun 22, 2010 6:18

Gives error
Code: Select all
rc-update: service `rp-pppoe' does not exist
zhidayat
Young Hen
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 8:06

Re: pppoe at start up

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Tue Jun 22, 2010 10:16

Have a look in /etc/init.d/ to see what you've got. Try:

Code: Select all
rc-update add net.ppp0 default


See the ADSL and PPPoE section in Gentoo Linux - Home Router Guide.
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7985
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: pppoe at start up

Postby zhidayat » Thu Jun 24, 2010 5:03

it still cannot work. I tried
Code: Select all
/etc/init.d/net.ppp0 start

to whether the ppp0 has been started after reboot or not and I got
Code: Select all
* WARNING: net.ppp0 has already started, but is inactive
zhidayat
Young Hen
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 8:06

Re: pppoe at start up

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Thu Jun 24, 2010 11:46

Trouble is, I don't use this dial-up stuff myself, so it's difficult to advise you. I do use a couple of broadband modems but with NetworkManager, so I don't have to mess around with pppoe-start and all that stuff.

Anyway, as I'm not an expert on pppoe, a different approach you could try would simply be to automate the entry of the command pppoe-start at start-up. You can do that by adding it to the file /etc/conf.d/local as follows:

Code: Select all
# Here is where you can put anything you need to start
# that there is not an init script for.

local_start() {
        # This is a good place to load any misc programs
        # on startup (use &>/dev/null to hide output)

        pppoe-start

        # We should always return 0
        return 0
}

local_stop() {
        # This is a good place to unload any misc.
        # programs you started above.

        # We should always return 0
        return 0
}

Give that a try to see if it does what you want.
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7985
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: pppoe at start up

Postby zhidayat » Thu Jun 24, 2010 20:04

It works :D
Thanks a alot Fitzcarraldo ...
zhidayat
Young Hen
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 8:06


Return to Networking and Wireless

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron