Wicd and Sabayon [Solved]

Issues Related to Networking (Wired and Wireless)

Moderator: Moderators

Wicd and Sabayon [Solved]

Postby Jack45073 » Fri May 14, 2010 8:50

Hey guys! I'm new to Sabayon and I'm loving it more then Ubuntu but I'm having a problem with Wicd :( I can't obtain my IP address when it tries to connect to my wifi. Can anyone help me with my problem?
Last edited by Jack45073 on Fri May 14, 2010 19:49, edited 1 time in total.
Jack45073
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 8:42

Re: Wicd and Sabayon

Postby micia » Fri May 14, 2010 10:13

Can you provide more informations about your connection:

Is it encrypted?
If it is encrypted, have you setup Wicd accordingly?
micia
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41

Re: Wicd and Sabayon

Postby Jack45073 » Fri May 14, 2010 17:32

Yes It has a WEP key and I've added the key in but it still can't obtain the IP address.
Jack45073
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 8:42

Re: Wicd and Sabayon

Postby micia » Fri May 14, 2010 18:21

Did you use networkmanager before? Maybe it is still running and it is creating some problem to wicd, ensure that NetworkManager is not running, check it using rc-update (as root):
Code: Select all
rc-update | grep NetworkManager

if NetworkManager shows up remove it:
Code: Select all
rc-update del NetworkManager default

also remove any NetworkManager application such as nm-applet from startup.

If you are not running NetworkManager I think that the network settings are not properly configured or Sabayon is having some problem with your wireless card...
Could you post the output of:
Code: Select all
lspci

as root?
micia
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41

Re: Wicd and Sabayon

Postby Jack45073 » Fri May 14, 2010 18:40

Yay It works now but how do I remove it from start up? I get this D-bus error and I have to restart Wicd. I was going to put it in autostart.sh for openbox anyways
Jack45073
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 8:42

Re: Wicd and Sabayon

Postby micia » Fri May 14, 2010 18:50

Can you paste here that error?

Maybe the wicd service is not started at boot, try to add it:
Code: Select all
rc-update add wicd default
micia
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41

Re: Wicd and Sabayon

Postby Jack45073 » Fri May 14, 2010 19:00

Count not connet to wicd's D-bus Interface. Check wicd log for error messages.

The wicd deamon has shutdown. The UI will not function properly untill it is restarted.


That's the error I get when I log in with Openbox but Wicd works once I restart it.
Jack45073
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 8:42

Re: Wicd and Sabayon

Postby micia » Fri May 14, 2010 19:07

That is pretty strange, does the log provide some informations?
It should be located in:
/var/log/wicd/wicd.log

Maybe you will need root priviledges to read that file.
You can use your favourite text editor, for example gedit:
Code: Select all
su
gedit /var/log/wicd/wicd.log
micia
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41

Re: Wicd and Sabayon

Postby Jack45073 » Fri May 14, 2010 19:09

No you were right I just had to add it in with rc-update I don't get the D-bus error now.
Jack45073
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 8:42

Re: Wicd and Sabayon

Postby micia » Fri May 14, 2010 19:39

Good! :mrgreen:

If the problem is now solved, be sure to mark this thread as [Solved], you can find some guidelines here:
http://forum.sabayon.org/viewtopic.php?f=49&t=17059
micia
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41

Next

Return to Networking and Wireless

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest