SL5 - wireless connecttion - confused.

Issues Related to Networking (Wired and Wireless)

Moderator: Moderators

SL5 - wireless connecttion - confused.

Postby Richlion » Sat Jan 09, 2010 18:59

Hello All,

I just installed SL5 on my laptop:
http://uk.computers.toshiba-europe.com/ ... D=116133#0

I don't have any problems with a cable to connect to the network.
With SL3.4 I never had any problems with configuring the wireless connections. With SL5 KDE and KDE control module I cannot get connected, seems like this tool runs in a loop and I tried various options to connect to no avail.
I am trying a WEP connection. When I right-click on the System Tray icon the connection manager says "connecting", then fails and keeps asking me for the password. I am using the "show password" option, so I am sure it's not a prassword problem.

The main options I am trying are:
WEP or WPA/WPA2 personal (I'm not a network guru, so don't what all this means)
Passphrase 128 bit
Open system/Shared key (don't know what it's for too)

Which options should I choose?

My router is:
http://www.frequencycast.co.uk/homehub2.html

I will appretiate any help.
Regards,
Richard.
*** Sabyon user since 2006 ***
Sabayon Linux amd64 13.03 - x86_64 Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU T4200 @ 2.00GHz
KDE 4.10.1 - on Acer Aspire 7730 zg 17" with Nvidia Geforce 9300M GS
Richlion
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 2:19
Location: Manchester

Re: SL5 - wireless connecttion - confused.

Postby micia » Sat Jan 09, 2010 19:23

Which options to use depends on your network connection, since it is a WEP protected network, I assume that WEP is the correct choice.

If you are able to see the wireless network it is very strange that you cannot connect, have you tried Wicd?
As root:
Code: Select all
rc-update del NetworkManager
rc-update add wicd

reboot and then fire up wicd-client, maybe it is a (or one of the) NetworkManager problem(s).
micia
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41

Re: SL5 - wireless connecttion - confused.

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Sat Jan 09, 2010 19:32

rc-update add wicd default

But Richlion, if it's your router why don't you try an experiment first? Disable encryption and see if you can connect. That way you can check if the problem is really at the SL end. Also, by any chance is your router currently configured to hide the network SSID (network name)?
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7977
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: SL5 - wireless connecttion - confused.

Postby micia » Sat Jan 09, 2010 19:37

Fitzcarraldo wrote:rc-update add wicd default


Shouldn't rc-update add wicd be the same?

Code: Select all
il-padre-laptop micia # rc-update add wicd
 * service wicd added to runlevel default


[EDIT] I see, if none is provided they go to the current runlevel, so it is always better to provide it, learning something new every day...
micia
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41

Re: SL5 - wireless connecttion - confused.

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Sat Jan 09, 2010 19:43

I think it's better if people know to which runlevel the daemon is being added, and use the full syntax.

# rc-update --help
Usage: rc-update [options] add service <runlevel>
rc-update [options] del service <runlevel>
rc-update [options] show

Options: [uChqv]
-u, --update Force an update of the dependency tree
-h, --help Display this help output
-C, --nocolor Disable color output
-v, --verbose Run verbosely
-q, --quiet Run quietly
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7977
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: SL5 - wireless connecttion - confused.

Postby Richlion » Sat Jan 09, 2010 21:03

Fitzcarraldo wrote:rc-update add wicd default

But Richlion, ... is your router currently configured to hide the network SSID (network name)?

No, I can see it on the list when I right-click on the network manager.

At the moment I am updating portage (connected via cable), once I am finished, I'll check other options.
I have also a laptop from work with Windows XP and no problems with wireless connections.

Thanks
Richlion
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 2:19
Location: Manchester

Re: SL5 - wireless connecttion - confused.

Postby Richlion » Sun Jan 10, 2010 19:41

So I did:
rc-update del NetworkManager
rc-update add wicd
rebooted and then fired up wicd-client.

It can see my BTHome network, I right-click, scan, but this client is not asking me for any password.
How does this work?

At the moment - no luck.

Regards,
Richard
Richlion
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 2:19
Location: Manchester

Re: SL5 - wireless connecttion - confused.

Postby micia » Sun Jan 10, 2010 20:21

You should go to the network properties of your wireless network(the "Advanced Settings" button or similar, I got Italian translation... It is under the Network ESSID, if you click on the arrow next to it, like in these screens: http://wicd.sourceforge.net/screenshot.php), here you can input your password and encryption modes.
After that, you should connect to that network and see if it works.
micia
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41

Re: SL5 - wireless connecttion - confused.

Postby Richlion » Sun Jan 10, 2010 20:42

Should I run wicd-client as ROOT, or regular user?
Richlion
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 2:19
Location: Manchester

Re: SL5 - wireless connecttion - confused.

Postby micia » Sun Jan 10, 2010 20:44

It should be run as a regular user, there is also a tray icon service, like knetworkmanager (you could put it in autostart, if you want to use wicd as your default network management application).
micia
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41

Next

Return to Networking and Wireless

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest