Sabayon 5 k network problem [Solved]

Issues Related to Networking (Wired and Wireless)

Moderator: Moderators

Sabayon 5 k network problem [Solved]

Postby tekwyzrd » Sun Oct 04, 2009 23:12

I installed sabayon 5 today. I have been running sabayon for a couple years now, and each time immediately after install I was able to connect using my at&t dsl with no additional configuration. With the newest version I am unable to access the internet. I can access the dsl modem info but can't access the internet. What a nightmare. Why are user names no longer allowed to start with a number? Why was the root password config in the installer moved below the admin user, and why is the default to have admin and root users use the same password?
Last edited by tekwyzrd on Sat Dec 12, 2009 22:11, edited 2 times in total.
Former Sabayon user (2005 - 2013) and current Arch user.
I liked Sabayon until it switched to Rigo and becoming the gentoo equivalent of Ubuntu. Extreme browsing? Extreme gaming? Extreme work? Extreme development? Like, totally gnarly, dude!
tekwyzrd
Technological Hen

Re: Sabayon 5 k network problem

Postby tekwyzrd » Sun Oct 04, 2009 23:52

I am unable to access the internet with the installed version or the live disk. Before you ask, yes, I checked the burn and it was ok.
I liked Sabayon until it switched to Rigo and becoming the gentoo equivalent of Ubuntu. Extreme browsing? Extreme gaming? Extreme work? Extreme development? Like, totally gnarly, dude!
tekwyzrd
Technological Hen

Postby wolfden » Mon Oct 05, 2009 13:44

You can have different passwords for each account, click in the box and type the passwords u want.

Networking
hardware?
logs?
DNS issue? Since it all seems to be working, I would look at this first.
wolfden
Sharecropper

Postby tekwyzrd » Mon Oct 05, 2009 16:23