pppoe in sabayon 5 not exist [Solved]

Issues Related to Networking (Wired and Wireless)

Moderator: Moderators

zhidayat
Young Hen
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 8:06

pppoe in sabayon 5 not exist [Solved]

Post by zhidayat » Sat Oct 03, 2009 15:32

Hi,
I can not find rp-pppoe in sabayon 5. how can I set up a pppoe connection?
Thanks in advance

-zul-
Last edited by zhidayat on Sun Oct 04, 2009 11:47, edited 1 time in total.

micia
Sagely Hen
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41
Contact:

Re: pppoe in sabayon 5 not exist

Post by micia » Sat Oct 03, 2009 16:54

rp-pppoe is available in entropy, you can install it and then use it.
Run as root:

Code: Select all

equo install --ask rp-pppoe
to install it.

If you do not have internet connection, you should download it
from:
http://www.sabayonlinux.org/packages

and install it locally:

Code: Select all

equo install --ask '/complete/path/to/the/package'
notice the ' before and after the end of the path.

[EDIT] In this case you should also check the dependencies, for example it depends on
dev-lang/tk, so you should download it too and install it at the same time:

Code: Select all

equo install --ask '/complete/path/to/rp-pppoe' '/complete/path/to/tk'

zhidayat
Young Hen
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 8:06

Re: pppoe in sabayon 5 not exist

Post by zhidayat » Sat Oct 03, 2009 20:25

Thank you Micia. I one other question, is it possible to use live dvd installer to do such things? I found downloading all dependency not so straight and laborious.

micia
Sagely Hen
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41
Contact:

Re: pppoe in sabayon 5 not exist

Post by micia » Sat Oct 03, 2009 22:34

I think you cannot, every package manager in Linux relies heavily on networking, without it
it is really a pain to manage installations, it would be really a good idea to include an option in the
package download section of the Sabayon homepage that allows to download rapidly the package
with every dependency.

You could suggest it in this section of the forum:
http://forum.sabayonlinux.org/viewforum.php?f=18
(as well as your idea about the installer improvement)

by the way, if you solved your problem, remember to mark this thread as solved appending
[Solved] to your first post subject.

Enjoy your pppoe connection :mrgreen:

zhidayat
Young Hen
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 8:06

Re: pppoe in sabayon 5 not exist

Post by zhidayat » Sun Oct 04, 2009 11:47

I still figure out how can I connect to internet. Perhaps by bringing my laptop to a wireless connection somewhere and installing rp-pppoe. I'll suggest an additional option for installer. Thanks again Micia.

iam
Baby Hen
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 17:01

Re: pppoe in sabayon 5 not exist [Solved]

Post by iam » Wed Oct 14, 2009 7:18

Hi, could you please tell me how can I establish internet connection in Sabayon 5 by pppoe. I use Debian/Ubuntu about year and setup my network with pppoeconf comand. Is there something like pppoeconf on Sabayon 5 kde cd? Network manager does not work in my case.

micia
Sagely Hen
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41
Contact:

Re: pppoe in sabayon 5 not exist [Solved]

Post by micia » Wed Oct 14, 2009 9:03

You should install rp-pppoe:

Code: Select all

equo install rp-pppoe
Open up a console as root and execute:

Code: Select all

pppoe-setup
configure your pppoe connection.

After that run, always as root:

Code: Select all

pppoe-start
if your connection gives some kind of problem try adding ppp0 (the new connection) to
the default route, as root:

Code: Select all

route add default dev ppp0

iam
Baby Hen
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 17:01

Re: pppoe in sabayon 5 not exist [Solved]

Post by iam » Wed Oct 14, 2009 9:54

You should install rp-pppoe:
equo install rp-pppoe
Thanks, but I have no internet connection, to do it. Or you mean to download package and install it locally, but how much dependencies I have to download and install with it?

micia
Sagely Hen
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41
Contact:

Re: pppoe in sabayon 5 not exist [Solved]

Post by micia » Wed Oct 14, 2009 10:01

It depends on your system, if you have no internet connections you should download
and install it locally as described above.
You should most likely download:

Code: Select all

rp-pppoe
tk
tcl
fontconfig

iam
Baby Hen
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 17:01

Re: pppoe in sabayon 5 not exist [Solved]

Post by iam » Wed Oct 14, 2009 10:18

Thanks a lot. I`ll try it

Post Reply