still have to run net-setup Every time i boot

Issues Related to Networking (Wired and Wireless)

Moderator: Moderators

still have to run net-setup Every time i boot

Postby lleb » Thu Apr 03, 2008 21:54

to have my eth0 working properly. is there a way/setting/config file someplace that i can set it and forget it?

little thing i know, but annoying it is to have to manually setup my network EVERY bloody time i have to boot out of linux and back in.
Sun State Martial Arts "The Family Training Center!"
worlds worst speller
User avatar
lleb
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 19:31
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: still have to run net-setup EVERY time i boot

Postby wolfden » Thu Apr 03, 2008 23:24

wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: still have to run net-setup EVERY time i boot

Postby momocore » Fri Apr 04, 2008 1:13

Do you have more than one network card?

We need more info
momocore
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 13:27

network settings STILL not sticking

Postby lleb » Mon Apr 07, 2008 20:47

every time i boot into Sabayon i am forced to run sudo net-setup to configure my bloody network card. when is this going to be fixed, and what conf file must i edit to deal with this blasted trouble.
Sun State Martial Arts "The Family Training Center!"
worlds worst speller
User avatar
lleb
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 19:31
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: network settings STILL not sticking

Postby xlnagla » Tue Apr 08, 2008 1:41

yay for hacking stuff together!!!

add the command (without the sudo and with slightly more advanced options) to /etc/conf.d/local.start
at least it'll run automatically now.

~xlnagla
xlnagla
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1078
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 2:44

Re: still have to run net-setup EVERY time i boot

Postby wolfden » Tue Apr 08, 2008 2:13

since you don't state what you have done or haven't done, it's kinda hard to go any where

only need to make one topic

did you read the gentoo networking handbook?
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: still have to run net-setup Every time i boot

Postby thejenesis » Wed Jun 04, 2008 13:07

hi,

i have similar problem. i've already tried the steps on the link below but still wont work:

http://wiki.sabayonlinux.org/index.php? ... _STATIC_IP

everytime i start the computer, my network configuration is gone. this i found out that the eth interface
increments everytime the computer restarts. i've tried to manually change the /etc/iface, but still did not
work, and worst, it no longer increments (i must have damaged it or something).

but whenever i run net-setup, the eth interface number still increments.

any suggestion would be greatly appreciated.

thanks!
thejenesis
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 12:47

Re: still have to run net-setup Every time i boot

Postby xlnagla » Fri Jun 06, 2008 3:42

There's a real answer to this somewhere on these forums - if you search within my posts you'll find it. However the quick version is to get the internet working, and then edit /etc/conf.d/local and add under local.stop the line cp /etc/resolv.conf /etc/resolv.conf.backup and under local.start the line mv /etc/resolv.conf.backup /etc/resolv.conf

Should work to make your network settings restore, though it's kinda a band-aid to the actual problem. I've noticed in world updating recently (through portage) that the use of resolv.conf is freshly depreciated, which means soon we'll move to openresolv, which will make this problem disappear completely. This should fix it in the meantime.

~xlnagla
xlnagla
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1078
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 2:44


Return to Networking and Wireless

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests