atheron chipset signal no connection - have checks docs

Issues Related to Networking (Wired and Wireless)

Moderator: Moderators

Re: atheron chipset signal no connection - have checks docs

Postby tismealso » Sun Mar 09, 2008 20:26

in addition if I use http://216.239.59.99 and try for google directly I get google WOOOOOOOOOT!

I cant select a link because I have nothing to resolve names but I can see the results !! never has a page of text looked so beatiful.

howdo I populate this damn resolve.conf then...... ?
tismealso
Young Hen
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 9:55

Re: atheron chipset signal no connection - have checks docs

Postby tismealso » Sun Mar 09, 2008 21:11

Thanks to some lads on IRC sabayon I am now surfing. For anyone following the thread the solution is

echo "nameserver 208.67.222.222" > /etc/resolv.conf
echo "nameserver 208.67.220.220" >> etc/resolv.conf

THEN

chattr +a /etc/resolv.conf

which will stop networkmanager from screwing up this file in future.

future edits use >> to append to the file.

lovely.

:D :D :D
tismealso
Young Hen
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 9:55

Re: atheron chipset signal no connection - have checks docs

Postby chickpea » Mon Mar 10, 2008 0:48

Great to see you are up and running.
chickpea
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1084
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 15:08
Location: Washington, DC

Re: atheron chipset signal no connection - have checks docs

Postby WarraWarra » Mon Mar 10, 2008 20:23

LOL booting of the live cd /dvd and then copy the resolv.conf to the hd also works as it should manually get your isp's dns if yours somehow got messed up or manual edit with a text editor or
# nano /etc/resolv.conf

Just check opendns's 208.67.*.* ones depends heavily on decent international / USA connections so if you are in another country and the international fibre links clog up then it will slow down the browsing for a few min.s. AT&T backbone = big culporate to this.

Verizon has 4.2.2.2 to 4.2.2.5 as alternative to opendns 208.67.222.222 etc.

I sometimes used as 2nd / 3rd dns in the wifi router one of each above and it makes a big speed difference + in linux use the router / wifi routers 192.168.6.7 so that the router does all the work and not the os's. Works in both manual entry of Linux / Windows etc.

Don't mess with stuff you are not comfortable with or do not know where the reset button is on the router LOL , can be annoying sometimes / use with caution.

Best of luck.
Usefull links for speed testing / ping readings etc :
dslreports.com/stest
or
speedtest.net
or
internettrafficreports.com
WarraWarra
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1989
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 21:01
Location: 31.324270, -113.585511

Previous

Return to Networking and Wireless

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest