atheron chipset signal no connection - have checks docs

Issues Related to Networking (Wired and Wireless)

Moderator: Moderators

atheron chipset signal no connection - have checks docs

Postby tismealso » Thu Mar 06, 2008 22:26

I have looked through the docs and tried everything I can think of so please no rtfm replies. I am stuck. I cannot connect to my wireless network although I can see it clearly.

iwconfig gives me:

ath0 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:"WELLROAD" Nickname:""
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.422 GHz Access Point: 00:17:3F:5C:DA:5F
Bit Rate:24 Mb/s Tx-Power:18 dBm Sensitivity=1/1
Retry:off RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:0107-7920-60 Security mode:restricted
Power Management:off
Link Quality=25/70 Signal level=-71 dBm Noise level=-96 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:842 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

iwlist scan gives me:

ath0 Scan completed :
Cell 01 - Address: 00:18:F6:0B:6D:2F
ESSID:"BTHomeHub-5A3E"
Mode:Master
Frequency:2.437 GHz (Channel 6)
Quality=33/70 Signal level=-62 dBm Noise level=-95 dBm
Encryption key:on
Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s
24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s
12 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s
Extra:bcn_int=100
Extra:wme_ie=dd180050f2020101880003a4000027a4000042435e0062322f00
Cell 02 - Address: 00:90:D0:F6:FE:90
ESSID:"SpeedTouch200721"
Mode:Master
Frequency:2.462 GHz (Channel 11)
Quality=12/70 Signal level=-83 dBm Noise level=-95 dBm
Encryption key:on
Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s
24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s
12 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s
Extra:bcn_int=100
Extra:wme_ie=dd180050f2020101880003a4000027a4000042435e0062322f00
Cell 03 - Address: 00:17:3F:5C:DA:5F
ESSID:"WELLROAD"
Mode:Master
Frequency:2.422 GHz (Channel 3)
Quality=22/70 Signal level=-73 dBm Noise level=-95 dBm
Encryption key:on
Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s
12 Mb/s; 24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s
48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
Extra:bcn_int=100
Extra:ath_ie=dd0900037f01010008ff7f

Can anyone see the problem ?
tismealso
Young Hen
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 9:55

Re: atheron chipset signal no connection - have checks docs

Postby xlnagla » Fri Mar 07, 2008 2:07

If this is the same card you were having the adventures with with ndiswrapper, then I fear that your card driver may not properly support encryption - try turning off WPA and re-connecting, and see if you can find out what networkmanager is telling you in its connection log. As a second note, it seems that iwlist believes you easily have a connection - if turning off WPA for you home network doesn't work, then you can try manually obtaining an IP address.

~xlnagla
xlnagla
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1078
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 2:44

Re: atheron chipset signal no connection - have checks docs

Postby tismealso » Fri Mar 07, 2008 7:06

No this is a new card, I going to ebay the belkin one, this is a netgear wpn311 one that I have read works with the madwifi drivers pre-installed on sabayon. I gave up and spent money :( I really need this connecion to work it is my only access to the internet and dont know of another way to use emerge etc than have a internet connection.
tismealso
Young Hen
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 9:55

Re: atheron chipset signal no connection - have checks docs

Postby xlnagla » Fri Mar 07, 2008 11:54

still try disabling the encryption, it may help some. Also, you could always just grab an ethernet cable and plug directly into your router for internet - if you really can't get internet up for your laptop, you can use the liveCD/DVD on another computer, mount --bind /var and /usr/portage to something moderately large, sync portage, and then use it to create a binpkg of what you need, put that on a flash drive, and move it back over to the networkless machine - needless to say, it's not an ideal solution.

~xlnagla
xlnagla
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1078
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 2:44

Re: atheron chipset signal no connection - have checks docs

Postby tismealso » Fri Mar 07, 2008 13:54

I shall try turning off the encryption this evening. As for the alternate method, I would rather pay for another modem and patch cable into the second modem. I want this to be low maintenance, although I am happy to put effort in to learining new stuff I dont want to be spending my life running back and forth just for updates, but if I get deperate I may try that approach for immediate returns. Clever, but as you say not ideal.
tismealso
Young Hen
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 9:55

Re: atheron chipset signal no connection - have checks docs

Postby WarraWarra » Sat Mar 08, 2008 13:28

Try to have alook at the networking topic sticky I made about "pre 3.4f intel 3945 something" as there the encryption topic is discussed at length and possibly tricks to try to get a better signal.
Either the driver / module or ndiswrapper should work by default with your wifi card provided you use a stable 32 bit win xp pro driver for it.
I have seen with some drivers in windows / ndiswrapper it works better or worse.

Updating dhcp using say a lan cable or somethng to get on the internet + wpa suplicant and ndiswrapper version worked to bypass errors in past SL versions as well.

Best bet is to kill wpa / wpa2 / wep in the wifi router and then see if it connects = good + fast = ndiswrapper / driver / module = good, then try to get the wpa part updated and re-enable the wep / wpa / wpa2 and see if it connects.
If not then the signal has too much noise or signal to noise ratio is too little difference 85/95 , the ideal for linux at this stage is 10 or more difference the more the better.

65/90 is more than adequate for wep / wpa / wap2 to connect.
Mirrors / walls /insulation and other stuff will block the signal or give a poor signal = errors = no wpa /wep /wpa2 connection only non encrypted.

Alternatively until wep /wpa /wpa2 is fixed just use mac adress filter in the router and leave encryption off.
I have seen that by moving my laptop 1 inch / 2.5cm the signal improves as reflections or direct signals can be picked up this way.

It is worth trying various ways to get the best signal like windows / linux software that came with the wifi card as this will tell you the signal + noise + quality etc and then once pc is in the best signal place and this still happens then software could be the issue.

Best of luck with this.
WarraWarra
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1989
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 21:01
Location: 31.324270, -113.585511

Re: atheron chipset signal no connection - have checks docs

Postby tismealso » Sat Mar 08, 2008 15:18

I have a connection !!! WOOT !! still no damn inernet but I can see the router config page. I think it must be firewall now....surely.

wireless assistant - sourceforge... duno what it did different but something clicked.
tismealso
Young Hen
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 9:55

Re: atheron chipset signal no connection - have checks docs

Postby chickpea » Sat Mar 08, 2008 23:37

Me no understandy. So you are connected to the WAP, but you can't surf is that what you are saying? Then something must be amiss with your (software) firewall on your machine. I would open up kmyfirewall and load a firewall rules that is totally permissive by default (you are behind a hardware NAT firewall afterall no?). See if that works for you. I used to run into this issue with firestarter, like a year ago when I was struggling to get it configured right.

Good job getting things working, I know how it feels, when things finally start to work for a change. You are almost there, don't give up yet! :)
chickpea
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1084
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 15:08
Location: Washington, DC

Re: atheron chipset signal no connection - have checks docs

Postby WarraWarra » Sun Mar 09, 2008 18:43

If you can see the router then either /etc/resolv.conf is empty or has bad dns ip's .

Example:
nameserver 4.2.2.2
nameserver 208.67.222.222

It can also be the router and it needs to be unplugged wait 1 min minm. then power on again and wait for it to boot up.

# net-setup also works sometimes.
WarraWarra
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1989
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 21:01
Location: 31.324270, -113.585511

Re: atheron chipset signal no connection - have checks docs

Postby tismealso » Sun Mar 09, 2008 20:11

okay still no surfing :(

kmyfirewall doesnt seem friendly, lots of background errors, can't even start the firewall from the configuration screen. What process is it I shall just kill the damn thing.

resolve.conf is completely empty except for a message saying # generated by networkmanager, do not edit.

how should I populate this file?
tismealso
Young Hen
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 9:55

Next

Return to Networking and Wireless

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron