WLAN activation on IBM T42

Issues Related to Networking (Wired and Wireless)

Moderator: Moderators

WLAN activation on IBM T42

Postby mm1804 » Wed Jan 30, 2008 18:28

Hi!

I have the following problem: After system boot I have to do the following to get WLAN working:
- Right Click on WLAN ICON and click on my access point (nothing happens)
- right click once again, click on my access point (now it is getting an IP address and the a connection)
- after ~10 seconds the connection gets lost (wlan icon shows disconnect status)
- I have to right click again and click again on my access point
- now connection es established and now it is not disconnecting any more.

this happens every time and gets annoying!

Any idea?

regards

Markus
mm1804
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 18:20

Re: WLAN activation on IBM T42

Postby WarraWarra » Fri Feb 01, 2008 17:43

Some of the older version have this bug not sure which one. Think it was ndiswrapper or dhcp version bug that caused this in about oct / nov last year.

Try to post your hardware specs and version of SL you are using then someone can post some help for you.
WarraWarra
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1989
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 21:01
Location: 31.324270, -113.585511

Re: WLAN activation on IBM T42

Postby mm1804 » Sat Feb 02, 2008 14:57

As I said I have an IBM T42 Notebook. Which Hardware Spec do you need?

Sabayon Version is 3.4.

regards

Markus
mm1804
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 18:20

Re: WLAN activation on IBM T42

Postby jspeybro » Fri Mar 28, 2008 17:15

I noticed that NetworkManager is more causing problems than helping.
I just did
Code: Select all
rc-update remove NetworkManager
rc-update add net.wlan0 boot

then I rebooted an my wireless network was up and running. I'm using ndiswrapper.

The reason I did this was because I noticed that I was getting an ipadress, but I couldn't connect to the internet. when I saw that networkmanager was starting after I received an Ip adress, I found it a bit useless to start network manager so I just got rid of it.

perhaps disabling the network manager may help in your case too.
jspeybro
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 14:34


Return to Networking and Wireless

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests