How do i install wireless?

Issues Related to Networking (Wired and Wireless)

Moderator: Moderators

How do i install wireless?

Postby ditchmagnet » Fri Jan 25, 2008 16:15

i just installed sabayon on a dell E1705. it has a broadcom wireless card, but it wasnt discovered durning install and still has not been discovered. Everything else is working great (although it would be nice if the audio buttons on the front controlled the sound)

im really new to linux and dont know much.

thanks for the help
ditchmagnet
Young Hen

Re: How do i install wireless?

Postby chickpea » Fri Jan 25, 2008 19:21

try searching the wiki/forums, this has been answered MANY times.

http://wiki.sabayonlinux.org/index.php? ... th_Sabayon

:roll:
chickpea
Sagely Hen

Postby chickpea » Fri Jan 25, 2008 19:22

as for the multimedia keys on your dell

set up an xmodmap

see

http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Use_Multimedia_Keys
chickpea
Sagely Hen

Postby lotek » Fri Jan 25, 2008 23:39

you need to install a ndiswrapper ndiswrapper.com :alien: sabayon 3.4 has the driver it picked mine up right away hope this helps :alien:
lotek
Baby Hen

Postby chickpea » Sat Jan 26, 2008 0:47

lotek wrote:you need to install a ndiswrapper ndiswrapper.com :alien: sabayon 3.4 has the driver it picked mine up right away hope this helps :alien: