Live DVD won't boot on new machine

Installer Issues via Installer -- Not for global upgrades or upgrading individual packages -- ONLY ISSUES WITH INSTALLATION OF THE OS -- Can't get Sabayon installed, than post here, otherwise use correct forums

Moderator: Moderators

Re: Live DVD won't boot on new machine

Postby nomad » Sun Oct 21, 2007 22:38

Try the 86_64 version. I have the Intel DG33BU mATX motherboard, E6550 processor, NVIDIA 8500GT and 4gb of system memory. I went thru every Sabayon version and none worked until I started looking at the EMT64 module of the processor.

Here is the E6750...
http://processorfinder.intel.com/Detail ... Spec=SLA9V
# Dual Core
# Enhanced Halt State (C1E)
# Enhanced Intel Speedstep® Technology
# Execute Disable Bit 1
# Intel® EM64T 2
# Intel® Thermal Monitor 2
# Intel® Virtualization Technology

Here is the E6550...
http://processorfinder.intel.com/Detail ... Spec=SLA9X
# Dual Core
# Enhanced Halt State (C1E)
# Enhanced Intel Speedstep® Technology
# Execute Disable Bit 1
# Intel® EM64T 2
# Intel® Thermal Monitor 2
# Intel® Virtualization Technology

Here is my lspci AFTER a successful install of the 86_64 version of 3.4e...
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82G33/G31/P35/P31 Express DRAM Controller (rev 02)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82G33/G31/P35/P31 Express PCI Express Root Port (rev 02)
00:03.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation 82G33/G31/P35/P31 Express MEI Controller (rev 02)
00:19.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 02)
00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 02)
00:1a.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 02)
00:1a.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #6 (rev 02)
00:1a.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 02)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 02)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 3 (rev 02)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 4 (rev 02)
00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 5 (rev 02)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev 92)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801IH (ICH9DH) LPC Interface Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 82801IR/IO/IH (ICH9R/DO/DH) 6 port SATA AHCI Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 02)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 0421 (rev a1)
03:00.0 IDE interface: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88SE6101 single-port PATA133 interface (rev b1)
07:00.0 Multimedia audio controller: Creative Labs SB Audigy (rev 03)
07:00.1 Input device controller: Creative Labs SB Audigy Game Port (rev 03)
07:00.2 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Creative Labs SB Audigy FireWire Port
07:01.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8169 Gigabit Ethernet (rev 10)
07:03.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments TSB43AB22/A IEEE-1394a-2000 Controller (PHY/Link)

The only glitch I have is the gigabit ethernet which for some reason does not work. I had to install a Netgear G311 PCI card and that was detected instantly during install. I dual boot with Vista (just an experiment). So I have two ethernet cables -- the Intel gigabit is for Vista and the Netgear G311 is for SL -- going to the wireless router.
nomad
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 21:42

Re: Live DVD won't boot on new machine

Postby grazie » Sun Oct 21, 2007 22:57

Thanks for that tip nomad. I hadn't thought of trying 64 bit.
grazie
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 19:08

Previous

Return to Installer Issues - Calamares **Not for Package Manager Stuff**

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron