Installing Sabayon and another linux distro on same machine

Installer Issues via Installer -- Not for global upgrades or upgrading individual packages -- ONLY ISSUES WITH INSTALLATION OF THE OS -- Can't get Sabayon installed, than post here, otherwise use correct forums

Moderator: Moderators

Installing Sabayon and another linux distro on same machine

Postby jerryf196 » Tue Aug 28, 2007 3:23

Hi,

I want to install sabayon 3.4e on one partition and another linux distro on the other partition. Yes you are probably wondering why 2 linux distros?
The reason is that there are always new versions of linux coming out so i would like to install it on the extra partition to test them out and keep sabayon as the good distro.

Right now I have 1 swap drive with 2 partitions.
jerryf196
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 16:43

Re: Installing Sabayon and another linux distro on same machine

Postby navman » Tue Aug 28, 2007 3:32

everybody does that -- we're linux sluts
navman
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 20:51

Re: Installing Sabayon and another linux distro on same machine

Postby DontPanic » Tue Aug 28, 2007 6:18

I've got 5 linux installs on this box:

1) Debian Sarge - Reference/Sandbox install for my stable Sarge Server on another box.
2) Debian Etch - This was my last primary linux workplace, as well as a test-bed for upgrading my server.
3) Gentoo - Reference install
4) Sabayon-Linux miniCD install - Probably my current primary installation.
5) Sabayon-Linux 3.4e - Working through world updates towards stability.
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L - Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E6750@ 2.66GHz
nVidia GeForce 7600 GS
2 GB RAM
DontPanic
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 742
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 20:29
Location: Mobile, AL, USA

Re: Installing Sabayon and another linux distro on same machine

Postby wolfden » Tue Aug 28, 2007 6:35

So the OP is just making a statement and not asking any thing or answering himself I guess
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: Installing Sabayon and another linux distro on same machine

Postby jerryf196 » Tue Aug 28, 2007 13:33

ya sorry about that. My fault!

Basically i want to know how to install the grub properly to load up 2 lunux distro on the same machine.

I had ubuntu on the first partition and then i installed sabayon on the second partition. During the installtion of sabayon 3.4e i added the ubuntu as my other operating system in the grub and selected the partition.

Anyways when i booted up i see the grub menu I select ubuntu and it doesn't boot up. But sabayon does! I know it's not a sabayon problem just wondering what to do.

Thanks
jerryf196
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 16:43

Re: Installing Sabayon and another linux distro on same machine

Postby wolfden » Tue Aug 28, 2007 22:40

edit the grub.conf so it is pointing to all the right spots.
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: Installing Sabayon and another linux distro on same machine

Postby DontPanic » Wed Aug 29, 2007 4:26

I've noticed that whenever you recompile kdm, it presents a new /usr/kde/3.5/share/config/kdm/kdmrc file that clobbers a lot of Sabayon-Linux customization.

If you overwrite the Sabayon-customized kdmrc file with the new file, it would probably describe the problem the poster is describing.

Is there a package you can emerge that will restore the kdmrc file to the Sabayon-Linux customized version?
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L - Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E6750@ 2.66GHz
nVidia GeForce 7600 GS
2 GB RAM
DontPanic
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 742
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 20:29
Location: Mobile, AL, USA

Re: Installing Sabayon and another linux distro on same machine

Postby zaphod987 » Mon Oct 01, 2007 22:29

Does anyone actu8ally have any USEFUL advice on this problem? What are the actual grub entries that need to be made to make it work? The /boot dir in Sabayon doesn't have a vmlinuz file, which is baffling me.
zaphod987
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 22:23

Re: Installing Sabayon and another linux distro on same machine

Postby dunsurfin » Mon Oct 01, 2007 23:32

You could try reinstalling ubuntu - debian installers are more polite than anaconda and automatically pick up other Linux distros. You would then have ubuntu and Sabayon. I know this is hindsight but it's always a good idea to copy your active /boot/grub/menu.lst before installing another distro - you can then copy entries from it to a new menu.lst if the distro isn't picked up.
Self-righteousness is a loud din raised to drown the voice of guilt within us - Eric Hoffer

Don't believe what it says on the right - I am anything but sagely; More oniony!
dunsurfin
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1333
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 21:38
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK

Re: Installing Sabayon and another linux distro on same machine

Postby DontPanic » Mon Oct 01, 2007 23:46

Here's my grub.conf file as an example...

Code: Select all
# grub.conf generated by anaconda
#
# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE:  You do not have a /boot partition.  This means that
#          all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /, eg.
#          root (hd1,1)
#          kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel real_root=/dev/sdb2
#          initrd /boot/initramfs-genkernel
#
# Video Mode Table
#     | 640x480  800x600  1024x768 1280x1024
# ----+-------------------------------------
# 256 |  0x301    0x303    0x305    0x307
# 32k |  0x310    0x313    0x316    0x319
# 64k |  0x311    0x314    0x317    0x31A
# 16M |  0x312    0x315    0x318    0x31B
#
#boot=/dev/sda
default=0
timeout=6
splashimage=(hd1,5)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
title Sabayon Linux x86 Mini
        root (hd1,5)
        kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.20-sabayon-r3  root=/dev/ram0 ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/hdb6  quiet  init=/linuxrc splash=silent,theme:sabayon vga=0x314 CONSOLE=/dev/tty1 dodmraid pci=nomsi
        initrd /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86-2.6.20-sabayon-r3
title Sabayon Linux x86 DVD
        root (hd1,1)
        kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.22-sabayon-1  root=/dev/ram0 ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/hdb2  quiet  init=/linuxrc splash=silent,theme:sabayon vga=0x314 CONSOLE=/dev/tty1 pci=nomsi
        initrd /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86-2.6.22-sabayon-1
title Debian Etch
        root (hd0,4)
        kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.18 root=/dev/hda5 ro
        vga=0x311 CONSOLE=/dev/tty1 pci=nomsi
        initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.18-4-custom
        boot
title Gentoo
        root (hd1,4)
        kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.21-gentoo-r4  root=/dev/ram0 ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/hdb5  quiet  init=/linuxrc vga=0x314 CONSOLE=/dev/tty1 pci=nomsi
        initrd /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86-2.6.21-gentoo-r4
title Other
        rootnoverify (hd0,0)
        chainloader +1
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L - Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E6750@ 2.66GHz
nVidia GeForce 7600 GS
2 GB RAM
DontPanic
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 742
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 20:29
Location: Mobile, AL, USA

Next

Return to Installer Issues - Calamares **Not for Package Manager Stuff**

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron