LiveDVD on Proliant DL350 G5 powers off/resets

Installer Issues via Installer -- Not for global upgrades or upgrading individual packages -- ONLY ISSUES WITH INSTALLATION OF THE OS -- Can't get Sabayon installed, than post here, otherwise use correct forums

Moderator: Moderators

LiveDVD on Proliant DL350 G5 powers off/resets

Postby jforhan » Mon Aug 06, 2007 22:25

I have been trying to get Sabayon to install on a new HP Proliant DL350 G5 server with no joy. I have tried LieveDVD 3.26, 3.3 and BE1.0. All result in the same issue. As it is booting, about 10 lines or so after the floppy drive message it powers off the system and resets it. I tried acpi=off, noapci, etc. and nothing seems to work.

Could it be the RAM drive? (The server has 2BG ECC RAM in it).

I can not see exactly where it is powering off as it scrolls by very quickly.

I just d/l the Ubuntu 7.04 server version and it is installing right now with no issues. I would really like to use Sabayon though...


TIA

Later,
Jeff
jforhan
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2007 22:16
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Postby davemc » Sat Aug 11, 2007 18:51

Go into your BIOS and enable virtualization support. Should work.
davemc
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 680
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 17:08
Location: Virginia, usa

Postby jforhan » Sat Aug 11, 2007 22:09

Thanks. I will try that. But why would I need to do that? Sorry if I sound stupid...
jforhan
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2007 22:16
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Postby richlw » Sun Aug 12, 2007 22:59

I think it has something to do with KVM, I had a similar issue of just freezing, not rebooting, and once I enabled Virtualization in my BIOS, Sabayon booted fine. Odd, but it made my 64-bit XP run faster too, so I was even more happier to be able to dual-boot with a speed increase :lol:
richlw
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 0:27

Postby jforhan » Mon Aug 13, 2007 20:21

Ok, so I found the Virtualization option and enabled it. 3.4e x86 ISO boots fine. However, Business Edition 1.0 still fails the same way. It just powers off.

Also, any reason it is trying to use the Radeon driver for the ATI ES1000 chipset? The ES1000 is a 2D only chipset and needs the VESA driver.
jforhan
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2007 22:16
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Re: LiveDVD on Proliant DL350 G5 powers off/resets

Postby jforhan » Tue Aug 28, 2007 5:28

BTT... Any reason Business edition will not work even after enabling Virtualization???
jforhan
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2007 22:16
Location: Massachusetts, USA


Return to Installer Issues - Calamares **Not for Package Manager Stuff**

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest