Grub to Vista MBR??

Installer Issues via Installer -- Not for global upgrades or upgrading individual packages -- ONLY ISSUES WITH INSTALLATION OF THE OS -- Can't get Sabayon installed, than post here, otherwise use correct forums

Moderator: Moderators

Grub to Vista MBR??

Postby mdb888 » Fri Jul 20, 2007 0:46

I'm new to Linux and wanted to install Sabayon in a dual boot with Vista, 120g sata HD.
Should I install Grub to the Vista MBR, and will it let me boot to vista as well, or should I install Grub to the Sabayon boot partition ?
I've dual booted Ubuntu and XP and Grub worked well, but I understand the Vista boot loader is a different animal and didn't want to trash the Vista install.
Thanks for any help..
mdb888
Baby Hen

Postby WarraWarra » Fri Jul 20, 2007 0:56

Not sure but I have seen that someone has written it to the actual linux parition and then edited the vista boot loader / menu to list this as well.

I know "Acronis disk director" or "Acronis Os Selector" can possibly do this as well just not sure how well it works with Vista.
WarraWarra
Sagely Hen

Postby mdb888 » Fri Jul 20, 2007 1:15

WarraWarra wrote:Not sure but I have seen that someone has written it to the actual linux parition and then edited the vista boot loader / menu to list this as well.

I know "Acronis disk director" or "Acronis Os Selector" can possibly do this as well just not sure how well it works with Vista.

I've been looking at a program, EasyBCD that's supposed to add Linux to the boot loader but don't really know that much about it either.
Evidently, the latest Ubuntu 7.04 release works well with Vista, but I didn't know about Sabayon.
I really wanted to try it but need to keep Vista as well.
Thanks for the tip. I'll look at Acronis.
mdb888
Baby Hen

Dual booting Vista-Sabayon

Postby linuxstruck » Fri Jul 20, 2007 3:40

mdb888,