I REALLY want to use this but have some problems

Installer Issues via Installer -- Not for global upgrades or upgrading individual packages -- ONLY ISSUES WITH INSTALLATION OF THE OS -- Can't get Sabayon installed, than post here, otherwise use correct forums

Moderator: Moderators

I REALLY want to use this but have some problems

Postby catinthebox » Wed Jul 11, 2007 1:19

(miniEdition)
my computer is not good enough to run beryl effectively, so i jsut turn accelleration off, but i still want to use this linux, i have a number of problems,and every other thread does not give me enough info ( linux noob ), alright, to my problems

1. WLAN adapter doesnt register, and ive tried to use ndiswrapper, but without a step by step idea of what to do, it doesnt work, i tried the ndiswrapper readme or whatever was included, i tried to execute the commands and no go, im a noob at this linux stuff so its probably that

2. Getting root on this live cd, i have no idea how, and some stuff needs root, is there a default root password i overlooked whilst reading?

3. This one is more of a question, I have a 2 gHz processor, 256mb ram and an onboard 64mb graphics card, i know i need to upgrade, but how much should i upgrade, would bringing my ram up to 512-768 suffice?

4. It takes a hella long time to boot up after I enter on start SL3.3miniEd, way to boot it faster?

5. it tells me to choose a mode, and give me a screen res looking list, but its like "80x64" and many odd ones, it doesnt matter what i do it changes for liek 3 seconds and then goes back to a good resolution, im fine with it but why does it come up?

6. it doesnt mount my harddrive, and thats the most angering thing, how to i mount it?
catinthebox
Baby Hen

Re: I REALLY want to use this but have some problems

Postby eduardhc » Wed Jul 11, 2007 7:29

catinthebox wrote:(miniEdition)