grub issues

Installer Issues via Installer -- Not for global upgrades or upgrading individual packages -- ONLY ISSUES WITH INSTALLATION OF THE OS -- Can't get Sabayon installed, than post here, otherwise use correct forums

Moderator: Moderators

grub issues

Postby jsalpha2 » Wed Jun 29, 2016 15:35

So I installed the newest ISO of Sabayon 64 Xfce 1607 (md5 sum matched) and when I rebooted the only items in Grub were for Sabayon. (No Windows..No other Linux) I went to update grub and got an error, update-grub-command not found. Un-installed/re-installed grub..no help. Downloaded the nightly ISO Xfce 64, formatted. installed, same thing. I am using an older computer, no UEFI bios. Installed a different distro on a different partition just to recover my grub, now I can boot into Windows or any of my Linux distros. Any ideas? Might re-install from an old ISO 16.05?
jsalpha2
Young Hen
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 13:21


Re: grub issues

Postby jsalpha2 » Wed Jun 29, 2016 18:59

Perhaps the os-probe was left out?
jsalpha2
Young Hen
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 13:21


Re: grub issues

Postby joost » Wed Jun 29, 2016 20:27

jsalpha2 wrote:Perhaps the os-probe was left out?


I think you are right. We changed the installer to Anaconda on the spins and indeed it lacks sys-boot/os-prober
@jsalpha2 in your case the solution was given above, install os-prober and regenerate the grub file.

If you didn't install yet:

A workaround could be while still on the live image before you start the installer, from a root shell do this:
Code: Select all
equo update && equo install sys-boot/os-prober


Then start the installer.
joost
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2623
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands

Re: grub issues

Postby joost » Wed Jun 29, 2016 22:50

joost
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2623
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands

Re: grub issues

Postby jsalpha2 » Thu Jun 30, 2016 14:18

Afraid to ask, what are the molecules for? Should I open the ISO and add them? Should they be run from the live image?
I'm up and going now, but still confused. Thanks
jsalpha2
Young Hen
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 13:21

Re: grub issues

Postby joost » Thu Jun 30, 2016 14:20

Posted that to show you we've corrected this flaw. Molecules are the scripts/instructions that build our images. So the next image that is build should have this package pre-installed.
joost
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2623
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands


Return to Installer Issues - Calamares **Not for Package Manager Stuff**

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest