grub issues

Installer Issues via Installer -- Not for global upgrades or upgrading individual packages -- ONLY ISSUES WITH INSTALLATION OF THE OS -- Can't get Sabayon installed, than post here, otherwise use correct forums

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
jsalpha2
Young Hen
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 13:21

grub issues

Post by jsalpha2 » Wed Jun 29, 2016 15:35

So I installed the newest ISO of Sabayon 64 Xfce 1607 (md5 sum matched) and when I rebooted the only items in Grub were for Sabayon. (No Windows..No other Linux) I went to update grub and got an error, update-grub-command not found. Un-installed/re-installed grub..no help. Downloaded the nightly ISO Xfce 64, formatted. installed, same thing. I am using an older computer, no UEFI bios. Installed a different distro on a different partition just to recover my grub, now I can boot into Windows or any of my Linux distros. Any ideas? Might re-install from an old ISO 16.05?

User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
Posts: 3254
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: grub issues

Post by sabayonino » Wed Jun 29, 2016 18:46

update-grub is alias related *buntu family

Code: Select all

# grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg
or

Code: Select all

# grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg
[Che Cos'è Il Calcolo Distribuito (BOINC)

BOINC ready ! Sabayon+BOINC = BILD ,my Sabayon spin :cyclops: - Ready to crunch for the Science everywhere :)

jsalpha2
Young Hen
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 13:21

Re: grub issues

Post by jsalpha2 » Wed Jun 29, 2016 18:59

Perhaps the os-probe was left out?

User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
Posts: 3254
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: grub issues

Post by sabayonino » Wed Jun 29, 2016 19:32

jsalpha2 wrote:Perhaps the os-probe was left out?

Code: Select all

# equo i sys-boot/os-prober &&  grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg 
[Che Cos'è Il Calcolo Distribuito (BOINC)

BOINC ready ! Sabayon+BOINC = BILD ,my Sabayon spin :cyclops: - Ready to crunch for the Science everywhere :)

joost
Sagely Hen
Posts: 2704
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: grub issues

Post by joost » Wed Jun 29, 2016 20:27

jsalpha2 wrote:Perhaps the os-probe was left out?
I think you are right. We changed the installer to Anaconda on the spins and indeed it lacks sys-boot/os-prober
@jsalpha2 in your case the solution was given above, install os-prober and regenerate the grub file.

If you didn't install yet:

A workaround could be while still on the live image before you start the installer, from a root shell do this:

Code: Select all

equo update && equo install sys-boot/os-prober
Then start the installer.
Image
My blog | Twitter | Please support Sabayon: Image

joost
Sagely Hen
Posts: 2704
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: grub issues

Post by joost » Wed Jun 29, 2016 22:50

Image
My blog | Twitter | Please support Sabayon: Image

jsalpha2
Young Hen
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 13:21

Re: grub issues

Post by jsalpha2 » Thu Jun 30, 2016 14:18

Afraid to ask, what are the molecules for? Should I open the ISO and add them? Should they be run from the live image?
I'm up and going now, but still confused. Thanks

joost
Sagely Hen
Posts: 2704
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: grub issues

Post by joost » Thu Jun 30, 2016 14:20

Posted that to show you we've corrected this flaw. Molecules are the scripts/instructions that build our images. So the next image that is build should have this package pre-installed.
Image
My blog | Twitter | Please support Sabayon: Image

Post Reply