SpinBase Installation [Solved]

Installer Issues via Installer -- Not for global upgrades or upgrading individual packages -- ONLY ISSUES WITH INSTALLATION OF THE OS -- Can't get Sabayon installed, than post here, otherwise use correct forums

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
callmebreezy
Baby Hen
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 0:20

SpinBase Installation [Solved]

Post by callmebreezy » Wed Mar 09, 2016 11:08

Hi there, I'm a recent sabayon linux convert, and I\m having problems with the SpinBase spin. from what i gather, you just need to input the installer command and the text installer will run, but this is not the case for me. I checked the md5sum of the iso and it matched, I even downloaded the SpinBase amd64 16.03 3 times to no success. It always says that "Installer command not found." The shell script doesn't also run, which is i tried by issuing "sh installer-text.sh" but still says that the file isn't found. I also followed the instructions at fitcarraldo's blog https://fitzcarraldoblog.wordpress.com/ ... installer/ but it still no success there also.

Thank you in advance!

P.S. : not really sure if this should also be posted here.
Last edited by callmebreezy on Thu Mar 10, 2016 8:33, edited 1 time in total.

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: SpinBase Installation

Post by wolfden » Wed Mar 09, 2016 12:04

When you boot the iso up, the boot menu has a selection for installation no? It's been forever since I looked at spinbase.

callmebreezy
Baby Hen
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 0:20

Re: SpinBase Installation

Post by callmebreezy » Wed Mar 09, 2016 13:20

yes. it does have that, but it takes forever to start though, it only show the sabayon logo and that's that for hours.

Thank you for your time.

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: SpinBase Installation

Post by wolfden » Wed Mar 09, 2016 13:32

hmmmm sounds like I will have to test it out and see what is going on.

Have you tried the minimal iso? It has the calamares installer in a fluxbox gui.

callmebreezy
Baby Hen
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 0:20

Re: SpinBase Installation

Post by callmebreezy » Wed Mar 09, 2016 13:34

Yep, i tried it. but i wanted the spinbase though. I guess it's back to the minimal installation for me. Thank you!

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: SpinBase Installation

Post by wolfden » Wed Mar 09, 2016 22:30

I double checked with others and they confirm there is no installer on spinbase.

Use server or minimal iso

callmebreezy
Baby Hen
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 0:20

Re: SpinBase Installation

Post by callmebreezy » Thu Mar 10, 2016 8:33

Thank you wolfden!

Post Reply