Can't install LS11 [Solved]

Installer Issues via Installer -- Not for global upgrades or upgrading individual packages -- ONLY ISSUES WITH INSTALLATION OF THE OS -- Can't get Sabayon installed, than post here, otherwise use correct forums

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
ags40
Simple Hen
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 22:15

Can't install LS11 [Solved]

Post by ags40 » Tue Mar 26, 2013 22:30

When I try to install LS11 and get to the part where you have to pick Language, keyboard, etc., the entire screen is totally white, no text, no options to pick. Is it my NVIDIA GeForce 6150SE? What can I do? Thanks
Last edited by ags40 on Thu Apr 04, 2013 20:16, edited 1 time in total.

Ryuno-Ki
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 456
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 22:15
Location: Southern Germany
Contact:

Re: Can't install LS11

Post by Ryuno-Ki » Wed Mar 27, 2013 1:53

  • Have you checked the md5sums? Both, the .iso and the burned CD?
  • Have you burned the CD with lowest speed as ISO?
  • Have you tried another program to burn? I face a similar problem (thread follows soon), but with a black screen after selecting an option (no matter which one). At least the "Help" option (available when burned using UNetBootin) let me at least mount my boot partition.
German Wiki translator ◆ Want to contribute on the wiki? Ask the Bureaucrats!
Please, mark solved threads ◆ Posts unread and unansweredPackage requests

ags40
Simple Hen
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 22:15

Re: Can't install LS11

Post by ags40 » Thu Mar 28, 2013 22:54

Thanks Ryuno-Ki. The response to your questions is in the affirmative. All that was done. When I try a fresh install of LS11 and get to the part where you have to pick Language, keyboard, etc., the entire screen is totally white, no text, no options to pick. Nothing. I appear to be in some kind graphic mode anyway.

Matte88
Technological Hen
Posts: 399
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 14:37
Location: @/etc/entropy/repositories.conf.d/entropy_sabayon-limbo

Re: Can't install LS11

Post by Matte88 » Mon Apr 01, 2013 21:42

ags40 wrote:When I try to install LS11 and get to the part where you have to pick Language, keyboard, etc., the entire screen is totally white, no text, no options to pick. Is it my NVIDIA GeForce 6150SE? What can I do? Thanks

It seems to be an integrated GPU; is your a laptop? On a laptop of a friend of mine with integrated nVIDIA (not exaclty yours), I couldn't install Sabayon.
Try booting the LiveDVD with nomodeset in boot options.
Image
When I became the sun,
I shone life into the man's hearts.

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: Can't install LS11

Post by wolfden » Mon Apr 01, 2013 22:44

Still trying to figure out what LS11 is.....

Ryuno-Ki
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 456
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 22:15
Location: Southern Germany
Contact:

Re: Can't install LS11

Post by Ryuno-Ki » Tue Apr 02, 2013 7:10

wolfden wrote:LS11

Linux Sabayon 11

My guess … I know, the usual order is the other way round :)
German Wiki translator ◆ Want to contribute on the wiki? Ask the Bureaucrats!
Please, mark solved threads ◆ Posts unread and unansweredPackage requests

ags40
Simple Hen
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 22:15

Re: Can't install LS11

Post by ags40 » Thu Apr 04, 2013 20:14

It was my card. I got a NVIDIA GT 610 and everything worked fine.Thanks to all of you.

Post Reply