Page 2 of 2

Re: Problems Loggin in

PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 20:48
by alshain
I have now reinstalled Sabayon.
First I used a boot disk with gparted to repartition my harddrive.
It now looks as follows:
Code: Select all
- ext4 /boot
- swap
- ntfs Windows 7 core
- extended
-| ntfs data
-| ntfs programs
-| ext4 SL /
-| ext4 /home

But still... it does not create a /home/operator directory.
Instead, I get:
/home/ftp
/home/p2p
and strangely enough a lost+found in /home also

Re: Problems Loggin in

PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 21:01
by Fitzcarraldo
Very odd. When you install, do you see a screen like the following, and what are you entering there?: http://wiki.sabayon.org/images/6/6c/Installk18.png

What SL installs in my /home directory:

Code: Select all
$ pwd
/home
$ ls
fitzcarraldo  ftp  lost+found  mythtv  p2p
$


My partitions:

/dev/sda1 NTFS Hidden factory restore partition
/dev/sda2 NTFS Windows 7 C: drive
/dev/sda3 ext4 /boot
/dev/sda4 Extended partition containing the following logical partitions:
/dev/sda5 ext4 swap
/dev/sda6 ext4 / (root)
/dev/sda7 ext4 /home

Re: Problems Loggin in

PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 21:07
by alshain
I at first I get prompted for the root password, then I get to enter my username, fullname and the password. I entered the same password for root and my user, shouldn't hurt, no?

Re: Problems Loggin in

PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 21:13
by Fitzcarraldo
No, it shouldn't, but please try using a different one to see what effect that has. If it then works, please file a bug report (see the link 'Bugs' at the top right of this page). Worth a shot. SL is using a new version of the Red Hat Anaconda installer, so maybe it has a bug in it.

Re: Problems Loggin in

PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 21:34
by alshain
Ok... I will. I have just now chedk the MD5 of the DVD using your guide, as suggested in the IRC channel and it matches the one on the mirror.

Re: Problems Loggin in

PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2010 1:24
by alshain
I have found the solution to my problem: Apparently the username "operator" is restricted and the installer does not prevent you from using it. I filed a bug report. Using a different username did the trick :)

Re: Problems Loggin in

PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2010 2:04
by Fitzcarraldo
Ha! When you wrote "operator" previously, I didn't realise you were literally entering a user name of "operator", I thought you were using "operator" in the same way some people write "/home/user" or "/home/username" when they mean /home/<user name>.

Having said that, I had no idea that using the text string "operator" as a user name would cause the problem you experienced.

How did you discover that using "operator" for a user name was the cause of the problem? Trial and error, or Google?

Just out of curiosity, why did you choose to use "operator" as a user name? Wouldn't something more personal be better? "/home/operator" is not as immediately distinctive as e.g. "/home/alshain". If you want to set up the PC for multiple users, it's better to create multiple user accounts, and they can be set up to have access to each others files if you want.

/home/fatherbear
/home/motherbear
/home/babybear
/home/goldielocks

For example, one could set up the accounts so that users "fatherbear", "motherbear" and "babybear" are members of the group "porridge" but user "goldielocks" is not.

Anyway, glad you are now set up correctly. Better than hacking an incorrect installation, and you have the satisfaction of finding a bug, to boot.

Re: Problems Loggin in

PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2010 19:29
by alshain
I looked at /etc/passwd and the position of operator in the list just seemed a little odd. So I just asked ahead in the IRC channel whether it was a restricted username, but it took some time until I had that thought.

Why I don't choose a more personal username? For exactly that reason. Many programs automatically tag files they create with personal information, such as the name etc. So I prefer an explicit "opt in" over "opt out" :)

Re: Problems Loggin in

PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2010 3:30
by Luposz
Thanks for answering, and sorry for not answer a little earlier
My problem was kinda... Silly?
My user name was Lupos, it was the capital letter...
I re-install and change the user name to lupos and worked =D
Thanks a lot for the answers, dunno if alshain could fix his :S

I'll wait for his answer to change the post to Solved =3

Re: Problems Loggin in

PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2010 12:29
by Fitzcarraldo
alshain did find the solution to his problem, Luposz. Marking this thread solved.