Toshiba A505-S6035 SL 5.1 wont install

Installer Issues via Installer -- Not for global upgrades or upgrading individual packages -- ONLY ISSUES WITH INSTALLATION OF THE OS -- Can't get Sabayon installed, than post here, otherwise use correct forums

Moderator: Moderators

Toshiba A505-S6035 SL 5.1 wont install

Postby tman7510 » Tue Mar 16, 2010 5:00

It starts to boot up and I select install but then after it starts to prepare live cd environment the screen goes black and the system locks up? My laptop is running the new corei7 with the intel H55 chipset. Is this incompatable with Sabayon?
tman7510
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 5:51

Re: Toshiba A505-S6035 SL 5.1 wont install

Postby wolfden » Tue Mar 16, 2010 6:08

need verbose info as to where it stops on loading and yes the i7 will work. also see wiki for cheatcodes u may have to use.
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: Toshiba A505-S6035 SL 5.1 wont install

Postby pepe999 » Wed Mar 17, 2010 20:08

I've got the same problem on my new HP. Can't install SL 5.1 at all, same i7 and an installation ends by black screen. The motherboard is HP and a chipset is Intel, probably the same H55. However, SL 5.0 works well.. :)

wolfden: My installation ends by "setting up gdm" and then black screen but I posted it on the forum already. I hope that SL 5.2 will work with my nVidia graphics properly.. :)
Dell L502X - Core i7-2840QM/8GB DDR3/GF 540M 2GB/Corsair GT 240GB/Full HD
Debian 7
Win 7 still installed
Linux user no. 491024
pepe999
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 19:24
Location: Manchester

Re: Toshiba A505-S6035 SL 5.1 wont install

Postby tman7510 » Thu Mar 18, 2010 2:32

my screen goes black after graphical configuration completes. I can ctr-alt F1 to get to a command prompt and if I run startx it fails. I check the log and get:
failed to load "dri" (module doesn't exist,0)
failed to load "dri2" (module doesn't exist,0)
Nvidia could not open the device file /dev/nvidia0 (input/output error)
Failed to initialize the nvidia graphics device
screens found, but none have a usable configuration
tman7510
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 5:51

Re: Toshiba A505-S6035 SL 5.1 wont install

Postby wolfden » Thu Mar 18, 2010 4:11

hardware? try cheatcodes? vesa? nv?
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: Toshiba A505-S6035 SL 5.1 wont install

Postby tman7510 » Fri Mar 19, 2010 4:05

Here are some specs
Intel® Core™ i7-720QM processor

NVIDIA® GeForce® GT 330M

Chipset Intel HM55

I have tried switching drivers to nv and vesa but the best I can get is three terminal windows to pop up no KDE

I think it might have something to do with the video port on the laptop HDMI-CEC (REGZA LINK)
tman7510
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 5:51

Re: Toshiba A505-S6035 SL 5.1 wont install

Postby pepe999 » Fri Mar 19, 2010 20:11

I've been able to install SL 5.1 Gnome but only with "xdriver=vesa" code in options at the start screen. It worked but after installing updates, the system completely crashed(usual black screen) and game was over..:)
Dell L502X - Core i7-2840QM/8GB DDR3/GF 540M 2GB/Corsair GT 240GB/Full HD
Debian 7
Win 7 still installed
Linux user no. 491024
pepe999
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 19:24
Location: Manchester

Re: Toshiba A505-S6035 SL 5.1 wont install

Postby tman7510 » Sat Mar 20, 2010 2:54

Installing with these options at boot worked for me "noapic noacpi acpi=off pci=noacpi" I haven't tried to update yet but it works so far. I noticed you have a triple boot setup. Sabayon creates an LVM so I'm wondering If I want to shrink a. Sabayon partition with gparted so I can install a third OS wich partitions are safe to shrink without screwing up the instalation?
tman7510
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 5:51

Re: Toshiba A505-S6035 SL 5.1 wont install

Postby pepe999 » Sun Mar 21, 2010 11:11

I've got 500GB HDD, it means I shrank Win 7 first. It created two partitions cca 250GB each. There are two partitions on NTFS(one says Win 7, second Win Vista setup) so I had to create a swap partition at the end(1.5GB) and an extended partition where I could install both linux systems. I have cca 20GB for each file system and cca 100GB for each /home. I've never used gparted to shrink the hdd so can't help you. Try google, there might be some manuals.. :)
Dell L502X - Core i7-2840QM/8GB DDR3/GF 540M 2GB/Corsair GT 240GB/Full HD
Debian 7
Win 7 still installed
Linux user no. 491024
pepe999
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 19:24
Location: Manchester


Return to Installer Issues - Calamares **Not for Package Manager Stuff**

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron