GDM doesn't start..

Installer Issues via Installer -- Not for global upgrades or upgrading individual packages -- ONLY ISSUES WITH INSTALLATION OF THE OS -- Can't get Sabayon installed, than post here, otherwise use correct forums

Moderator: Moderators

GDM doesn't start..

Postby pepe999 » Sat Dec 26, 2009 12:05

Hi all,
I've already written a post about my problems on SL 5.1 Gnome x86_64 on this forum. However, I took a challenge and tried to install it. I boot on to the live dvd with a cheat code "xdriver=vesa". It was in a low resolution but I got a live dvd SL 5.1 working. I installed it but can't get into the X server. It doesn't work even with the vesa driver. There is an error in a log..
Code: Select all
* Setting up gdm...
/usr/bin/gdm: error while loading shared libraries: libGL.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
* start-stop-daemon: failed to start `/usr/bin/gdm'
* ERROR: could not start the Display Manager
 [ ok ]

I found out that libGL.so.1 is in /usr/lib32(64)/opengl/xorg-X11/lib
but I don't know where it suppose to be or what's wrong. While booting up the screen says that there is an unknown domain..
Thx for help.. :)
Dell L502X - Core i7-2840QM/8GB DDR3/GF 540M 2GB/Corsair GT 240GB/Full HD
Debian 7
Win 7 still installed
Linux user no. 491024
pepe999
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 19:24
Location: Manchester

Re: GDM doesn't start..

Postby dunsurfin » Sat Dec 26, 2009 12:32

Would it be worth reinstalling GDM?
Self-righteousness is a loud din raised to drown the voice of guilt within us - Eric Hoffer

Don't believe what it says on the right - I am anything but sagely; More oniony!
dunsurfin
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1333
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 21:38
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK

Re: GDM doesn't start..

Postby pepe999 » Sat Dec 26, 2009 13:36

I can't reinstall anything because I haven't connected to the internet and sync repositories yet... :(

edit: I tried to connect Sabayon in the shell to the internet but no luck yet.
Code: Select all
iwconfig wlan0 mode managed channel X key open "passcode" essid BTHome...

Code: Select all
iwconfig wlan0 ap "mac address"

Code: Select all
dhclient wlan0

iwconfig says something like this..
Code: Select all
wlan0     IEEE 802.11abgn  ESSID:"BTHomeHub2-XXXX" 
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.442 GHz  Access Point: Not-Associated   
Dell L502X - Core i7-2840QM/8GB DDR3/GF 540M 2GB/Corsair GT 240GB/Full HD
Debian 7
Win 7 still installed
Linux user no. 491024
pepe999
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 19:24
Location: Manchester

Re: GDM doesn't start..

Postby Thev00d00 » Sun Dec 27, 2009 1:26

Code: Select all
# eselect opengl list
# eselect opengl set 1/2/3
Image
Please report Bugs on the Bugzilla, not forum
Please Adopt an Unanswered thread
Website / Blog : v00d00.net
twitter: Follow Me
G+: Circle Me
Thev00d00
Generally Awesome (tm)
 
Posts: 1472
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 15:52
Location: United Kingdom

Re: GDM doesn't start..

Postby Azerthoth » Sun Dec 27, 2009 3:06

Code: Select all
# nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf

change video driver to vesa
Code: Select all
# /etc/init.d/xdm restart


Now you have GUI and networking manager. Proceed with upgrade procedure.

Code: Select all
# equo update ; equo install entropy ; equo conf update ; equo upgrade
Azerthoth
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 20:03
Location: Bethel, Alaska

Re: GDM doesn't start..

Postby pepe999 » Sun Dec 27, 2009 12:06

Azerthoth wrote:
Code: Select all
# nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf

change video driver to vesa
Code: Select all
# /etc/init.d/xdm restart


Now you have GUI and networking manager. Proceed with upgrade procedure.

Code: Select all
# equo update ; equo install entropy ; equo conf update ; equo upgrade

Thanks for your reply but I can't boot to the X server even with the vesa driver!! I'm going to try Thev00d00 commands so hope it will work.. :)
Dell L502X - Core i7-2840QM/8GB DDR3/GF 540M 2GB/Corsair GT 240GB/Full HD
Debian 7
Win 7 still installed
Linux user no. 491024
pepe999
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 19:24
Location: Manchester

Re: GDM doesn't start..

Postby pepe999 » Sun Dec 27, 2009 12:41

Thanks Thev00d00!! :D
I'm syncing Portage at the moment and I should reinstall nvidia driver and also kernel I suppose..

edit: I'm updating now including nvidia driver 190.53.. :)
Dell L502X - Core i7-2840QM/8GB DDR3/GF 540M 2GB/Corsair GT 240GB/Full HD
Debian 7
Win 7 still installed
Linux user no. 491024
pepe999
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 19:24
Location: Manchester

Re: GDM doesn't start..

Postby pepe999 » Sun Dec 27, 2009 14:17

Done updating but no luck. I installed nvidia-drivers 190.53, but after reboot it was still in a low resolution. Then I installed nvidia-settings, but there is only 185.53 version so this might be a problem because after that is just "black screen death".. :D
There is also nvidia-drivers 190.42 but it's masked. I think that nvidia-settings and nvidia-drivers should be the same, I mean kernel. Am I right? I suppose that nvidia-drivers 185.53 might be working on my laptop but I couldn't find them in Sulfur..
Dell L502X - Core i7-2840QM/8GB DDR3/GF 540M 2GB/Corsair GT 240GB/Full HD
Debian 7
Win 7 still installed
Linux user no. 491024
pepe999
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 19:24
Location: Manchester


Return to Installer Issues - Calamares **Not for Package Manager Stuff**

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron