Upgrade Sabayon without booting off liveDVD

Installer Issues via Installer -- Not for global upgrades or upgrading individual packages -- ONLY ISSUES WITH INSTALLATION OF THE OS -- Can't get Sabayon installed, than post here, otherwise use correct forums

Moderator: Moderators

hexxamillion
Baby Hen
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 6:42

Re: Upgrade Sabayon without booting off liveDVD

Post by hexxamillion » Fri Apr 11, 2008 6:51

I really appreciate your instructions for installing without burning the ISO. I will try this. I burned the miniedition which I believe is 34f and I did come accross the issue with a couple of blocking, one of them being portage which I believe cannot be good. As I stated I will attempt the partition and download procedure.

DontPanic
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 742
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 20:29
Location: Mobile, AL, USA

Re: Upgrade Sabayon without booting off liveDVD

Post by DontPanic » Thu Apr 24, 2008 21:33

I just got through trying the version of the HowTo that's in the Wiki, and it worked great.

Thanks for the tips.

BTW, I was able to use an extended partition just fine, although grub was actually located in a primary partition of an existing installation.
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L - Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU [email protected] 2.66GHz
nVidia GeForce 7600 GS
2 GB RAM

pau1
Baby Hen
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 23:24

Re: Upgrade Sabayon without booting off liveDVD

Post by pau1 » Sat Apr 26, 2008 23:31

Are there any limitations to extlinux??? I'm trying to install it on my 2nd primary partition on hard drive 2 using the command
extlinux --install /mnt/isoroot
. The partition is ext2 formatted and 14 GB's in size. (Is the size to big for extlinux?) What i get is
/mnt/isoroot is device /dev/hdb2
which i'm guessing is an error. Extlinux is pretty unhelpful in telling my why the command failed.

I'm running the command in Ubuntu 7.10 and extlinux is version 3.16

hexxamillion
Baby Hen
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 6:42

Re: Upgrade Sabayon without booting off liveDVD

Post by hexxamillion » Thu May 01, 2008 11:49

Maybe you already found the answer to this. I believe that is normal output, stating what the "device" is for that mount point verifying that it was sucessfully mounted. I could be mistaken because I'm not in front of my home machine right now to verify. I know that I mounted the ISO in the past following this procedure without any problems.

kjslag
Baby Hen
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 6:46

Re: Upgrade Sabayon without booting off liveDVD

Post by kjslag » Thu Jul 03, 2008 6:48

Can someone post the link to the wiki with the instructions to install without burning a DVD?

EDIT:
found it
http://wiki.sabayonlinux.org/index.php? ... _The_Image

DontPanic
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 742
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 20:29
Location: Mobile, AL, USA

Re: Upgrade Sabayon without booting off liveDVD

Post by DontPanic » Thu Jul 03, 2008 13:53

For clarification, I'd like to point out that the version that is in the Wiki follows a somewhat different procedure.

The procedure described in this post utilizes an application called syslinux to boot the DVD. The procedure described in the Wiki boot directly to the LiveDVD portion using grub.

I'm not sure of the advantages or disadvantages of either approach, but I wanted to clarify that there are differences in case anybody is popping back and forth between the two procedures and getting confused.
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L - Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU [email protected] 2.66GHz
nVidia GeForce 7600 GS
2 GB RAM

Jogai
Young Hen
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 22:32
Location: NL
Contact:

Re: Upgrade Sabayon without booting off liveDVD

Post by Jogai » Tue Sep 16, 2008 22:48

I cant copy the files.

Code: Select all

cp -r /mnt/cdrom/* /media/Recover/
cp: reading `/mnt/cdrom/boot/memtest': Input/output error
cp: reading `/mnt/cdrom/boot/sabayon': Input/output error
cp: reading `/mnt/cdrom/boot/sabayon.igz': Input/output error
cp: reading `/mnt/cdrom/isolinux/16x16.fnt': Input/output error
cp: reading `/mnt/cdrom/isolinux/back.jpg': Input/output error
cp: reading `/mnt/cdrom/isolinux/bootlogo': Input/output error
cp: reading `/mnt/cdrom/isolinux/en.hlp': Input/output error
cp: reading `/mnt/cdrom/isolinux/en.tr': Input/output error
cp: reading `/mnt/cdrom/isolinux/f1.txt': Input/output error
cp: reading `/mnt/cdrom/isolinux/f2.txt': Input/output error
cp: reading `/mnt/cdrom/isolinux/f3.txt': Input/output error
cp: reading `/mnt/cdrom/isolinux/f4.txt': Input/output error
cp: reading `/mnt/cdrom/isolinux/f5.txt': Input/output error
cp: reading `/mnt/cdrom/isolinux/f6.txt': Input/output error
cp: reading `/mnt/cdrom/isolinux/f7.txt': Input/output error
cp: reading `/mnt/cdrom/isolinux/f8.txt': Input/output error
cp: reading `/mnt/cdrom/isolinux/isolinux.cfg': Input/output error
cp: reading `/mnt/cdrom/isolinux/isolinux.txt': Input/output error
cp: reading `/mnt/cdrom/isolinux/langlist': Input/output error
cp: reading `/mnt/cdrom/isolinux/langs': Input/output error
cp: reading `/mnt/cdrom/isolinux/splash.rle': Input/output error
cp: reading `/mnt/cdrom/README.txt': Input/output error
It occurs in both versions of the how to.

DontPanic
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 742
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 20:29
Location: Mobile, AL, USA

Re: Upgrade Sabayon without booting off liveDVD

Post by DontPanic » Wed Sep 17, 2008 2:32

Basically, these errors are telling you that you computer is having trouble reading the DVD/CD drive.

If you still have the DVD image on your hard disk, you may want to mount that directly and then copy.
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L - Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU [email protected] 2.66GHz
nVidia GeForce 7600 GS
2 GB RAM

Jogai
Young Hen
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 22:32
Location: NL
Contact:

Re: Upgrade Sabayon without booting off liveDVD

Post by Jogai » Wed Sep 17, 2008 18:45

I did that. I mounted my iso on /mnt/cdrom
I did a little research and i think loop is the problem:

Code: Select all

PC jogai # modprobe loop
FATAL: Module loop not found.
PC jogai #

DontPanic
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 742
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 20:29
Location: Mobile, AL, USA

Re: Upgrade Sabayon without booting off liveDVD

Post by DontPanic » Wed Sep 17, 2008 20:18

Loop is built into the kernel in Sabayon, so you'll get an error trying to install it's module (which doesn't exist).

If you are getting these errors from an image file mounted on /mnt/cdrom, that would usually indicate a problem with the image file.

Have you done an md5sum on the image file?
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L - Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU [email protected] 2.66GHz
nVidia GeForce 7600 GS
2 GB RAM

Post Reply