Manual install

Installer Issues via Installer -- Not for global upgrades or upgrading individual packages -- ONLY ISSUES WITH INSTALLATION OF THE OS -- Can't get Sabayon installed, than post here, otherwise use correct forums

Moderator: Moderators

Manual install

Postby Pedro2 » Fri Sep 21, 2007 1:57

I am going to install Sabayon 3f. How big has the boot partition and the swap partition to be. I am new to this.
Thank you
Pedro2
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 1:48

Re: Manual install

Postby dunsurfin » Fri Sep 21, 2007 8:22

Unless you really need it, there's no need for a separate boot partition - just install to the MBR. I believe that the standard formula for swap used to be double the size of your RAM. It depends on your system, mine runs happily without a swap partition but I have a decent amount of RAM..
Self-righteousness is a loud din raised to drown the voice of guilt within us - Eric Hoffer

Don't believe what it says on the right - I am anything but sagely; More oniony!
dunsurfin
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1333
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 21:38
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK

Re: Manual install

Postby Pedro2 » Fri Sep 21, 2007 15:35

I have 2Gb Ram. So no swap it is. Thanks for that.
Pedro2
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 1:48

Re: Manual install

Postby wolfden » Sat Sep 22, 2007 14:40

You should always have a swap, even if only 500MBs

I have 2GB ram and I have 2gb swap. I have touched my swap, especially during xdeltaing. It certainly isn't going to hurt to have some swap
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: Manual install

Postby dunsurfin » Sat Sep 22, 2007 16:44

I bow to your greater experience Wolfden. :)
Self-righteousness is a loud din raised to drown the voice of guilt within us - Eric Hoffer

Don't believe what it says on the right - I am anything but sagely; More oniony!
dunsurfin
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1333
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 21:38
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK

Re: Manual install

Postby wolfden » Sat Sep 22, 2007 17:26

:lol:

just saying it can't hurt
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: Manual install

Postby ScottishDuckHunter » Sat Sep 22, 2007 17:38

I use 4GB swap :)
Image
ScottishDuckHunter
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 16:57
Location: Lochgilphead, Scotland

Re: Manual install

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Sat Sep 22, 2007 23:27

I used to have the swap partition as 4 Gb but realised it was not being used. I reduced it to 2 Gb and realised that was not being used either. Now I have it at 510 Mb and I've still not seen it used! Mind you, my laptop has 2 Gb RAM, so it's not that surprising.

100 Mb is usually the recommended size for /boot.


The partitions on my dual-boot laptop are currently configured as follows:

1. primary partition /dev/sda1 fat32 (4 Gb) hidden factory partition for restoring Windows XP
2. primary partition /dev/sda2 fat32 (72 Gb) Windows XP C: drive
3. primary partition /dev/sda3 ext3 (102 Mb) /boot
4. extended partition /dev/sda4 containing:
i) logical partition /dev/sda5 ext3 (52 Gb) /home
ii) logical partition /dev/sda6 ext3 (21 Gb) /
iii) logical partition /dev/sda7 linux-swap (510 Mb) swap

This works a treat, with plenty of space for Portage and emerging new packages without worrying about filling the partition while doing it.
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom


Return to Installer Issues - Calamares **Not for Package Manager Stuff**

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron