Partitioning with multiple OS

Installer Issues via Installer -- Not for global upgrades or upgrading individual packages -- ONLY ISSUES WITH INSTALLATION OF THE OS -- Can't get Sabayon installed, than post here, otherwise use correct forums

Moderator: Moderators

Partitioning with multiple OS

Postby [quark] » Thu Sep 20, 2007 15:43

First of all, hi!
I'm new here and new with Linux.

I have 2 HDs: The first (SATA) - 2 partitons (all ntfs) - XP + Vista and the second (IDE) - (4 partitions (3 ntfs + 1 hfs+)- Mac OS X)

Where should I create Linux partitions for Sabayon? Or it will be better to buy new HDD (I will do it soon anyway) and play with it?

P.S. I'm not a complete noob but not a guru... so...
[quark]
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 15:13

Re: Partitioning with multiple OS

Postby wolfden » Thu Sep 20, 2007 16:13

where ever you have room
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: Partitioning with multiple OS

Postby [quark] » Thu Sep 20, 2007 20:41

Will it break mu current boot loader?..

I mean will I be able to boot to any of XP/Vista/Mac without any shaman tambourines?
[quark]
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 15:13

Re: Partitioning with multiple OS

Postby wolfden » Thu Sep 20, 2007 22:06

I don't know what u use for boot, the installer has choice to install grub or not. If grub doesn't auto add your stuff, just edit grub.conf and add them. At the moment it usually just detects windows than others are just editing and adding their others.
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: Partitioning with multiple OS

Postby [quark] » Thu Sep 20, 2007 22:08

I use default Vista loader :) (+ chain0 for OS X)

Ok... I'll play with it tonight...
[quark]
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 15:13


Return to Installer Issues - Calamares **Not for Package Manager Stuff**

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron