erm i got a problem

Installer Issues via Installer -- Not for global upgrades or upgrading individual packages -- ONLY ISSUES WITH INSTALLATION OF THE OS -- Can't get Sabayon installed, than post here, otherwise use correct forums

Moderator: Moderators

erm i got a problem

Postby kai_99992003 » Sat Sep 08, 2007 14:37

hi im new to linux and was wondering if u can help me

im trying to install sabayon on a removeable hard drive (256gb) and when i install the grub bootloader onto my windows partition i have no problems untill i take my laptop out and forget the external hard drive and all that apears on the screen is grub ... is their a way to install sabayon onto my external hard drive so that when i dont have it with me i can boot windows and when i get home boot sabayon linux

ps i have tried using it without the boot loader and all i get is error loading os screen

thanksfor your time
kai_99992003
Baby Hen

Re: erm i got a problem

Postby DelSiR » Wed Sep 12, 2007 14:12

I take it you still have Windows installed on your laptop's local hard drive? What version is it?

I dont know if you have done this but all you have to do is add an option into grub for your windows partition (local harddrive) and have your option for Sabayon pointing to your external HDD. Hope that helps?... :)
DelSiR
Baby Hen

Postby eponalank » Fri Sep 14, 2007 22:41

sorry to bum in but i have the same problem ...

how would you then go and “add the option" on the grub?

thanks XD
eponalank
Young Hen

Postby kai_99992003 » Sat Sep 15, 2007 19:06

yeah i got xp on the local hard drive but it wont load the bootloader without plugging my xternal one with linux installed in
kai_99992003
Baby Hen

Postby DelSiR » Mon Sep 17, 2007 9:04

eponalank wrote:sorry to bum in but i have the same problem ...

how would you then go and “add the option" on the grub?

thanks XD