GRUB problem??

Installer Issues via Installer -- Not for global upgrades or upgrading individual packages -- ONLY ISSUES WITH INSTALLATION OF THE OS -- Can't get Sabayon installed, than post here, otherwise use correct forums

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
equus
Baby Hen
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 22:13

GRUB problem??

Post by equus » Tue Sep 04, 2007 23:39

Hi all, I'm new to the world of linux and Sabayon seems a pretty nice distro so I thought I'd give it a try, but after installation GRUB's not working and I have no ideas how to fix it.

Preliminary info:
AMD64x2 3800+
Abit AX8 v2.0
2Gb RAM
Hitachi "250"Gb harddrive off a PCI-e SATA II controller disk
-Windows XP on first partition of 80Gb NTFS
-second partition of 100Gb FAT32 for data

I installed Sabayon 3.4e off the live-dvd onto the remainder of the disk (sda3), with GRUB installed on the same partition (sda3).

After rebooting, GRUB doesn't start up and the system went straight to XP after the POST screen.

I tried putting GRUB onto sda1 (the XP partition). After rebooting the GRUB console came up. Unsure what to do, I tried the boot command and GRUB returned an error saying that the kernel needs to be loaded first.

Can anyone kindly give me some instruction as to how to make GRUB work?

Many thanks.

Dreadis
Baby Hen
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 0:22

Re: GRUB problem??

Post by Dreadis » Wed Sep 05, 2007 0:59

you should put grub in the mbr thats should be all you have to do

equus
Baby Hen
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 22:13

Re: GRUB problem??

Post by equus » Wed Sep 05, 2007 9:30

Thank you for the reply.

I have tried putting grub in the MBR of sda1, that's when the console comes up telling me to load kernel first.

Any ideas?

darkscot
Advanced Hen
Posts: 249
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:41
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Contact:

Re: GRUB problem??

Post by darkscot » Wed Sep 05, 2007 10:37

If you run the install again there is an option to repair grub. I had a similar problem when I tried to put grub somewhere other than the MBR.
Alternatively you could get yourself a copy of Super Grub Disk. It has helped me several times recently.
http://supergrub.forjamari.linex.org/
Desktop1: Sabayon 3.4e, WinXP | Desktop2: Sabayon 3.4e, WinME |

equus
Baby Hen
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 22:13

Re: GRUB problem??

Post by equus » Wed Sep 05, 2007 10:53

Thanks Darkscot.
Hae tried repairing grub, same error....
Maybe I will try super grub this evening when I get home.

I hope I don't have to run linux virtualised inside windows...

equus
Baby Hen
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 22:13

Re: GRUB problem??

Post by equus » Thu Sep 06, 2007 12:19

Just reporting back on my progress.
Super Grub Disk didn't work.
It appears that my linux partition is not being regconised at all.
Very strange.
I might try manaully installing grub when i find the time.

Anyway, thanks for all your help guys.

node_one
Young Hen
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat May 19, 2007 20:52

Re: GRUB problem??

Post by node_one » Thu Sep 13, 2007 14:04

Do you have any other disks in the system? Your controller card may be reordering your boot order from what you see in the BIOS. I experienced similar problems with a different add-on controller.

node_one
Young Hen
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat May 19, 2007 20:52

Re: GRUB problem??

Post by node_one » Wed Sep 26, 2007 23:51

When you get to grub, instead of booting, press "c" That will bring your grub console. Type "help" and you will see all the available commands. There is a grub manual online http://www.gnu.org/software/grub/manual/grub.html that helped me. I personally have used "find" as in "find /grub/menu.lst" if you have a /boot partition or "find /boot/grub/menu.lst" if you only have / (slash). This will give you the drive where this file is located in grub notation (as in "(hd0,0)").

Post Reply