Parallels

If you want to talk about your personal paperweight, you've found the right place!

Moderator: Moderators

Parallels

Postby Gigadelic IIDX » Mon Jun 25, 2007 5:26

has anyone used this tool

i wanna try it out to boot my Sabayon Partition
Gigadelic IIDX
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 11:27

Postby WarraWarra » Thu Jun 28, 2007 8:29

Okay parallels is not vmware workstation so you do not have direct disk access like in vmware.
Unless they updated it in the last few days. I did ask them nov/dec 2006 for direct disk access and some other stuff to be added.

Either way I have tried on both OSX parallels host , win , lin and trying to install sabayon as guest = not happy with booting from cd /dvd.

The searching for cd / dvd and not finding it error. But it does that with one of my old win xp pro sp2 cd's as well = no luck.
You can use KVM or XEN or virtual box as all of them works the last time I checked not 100% sure.

You are more than welcome to try it and if you get it right PLZ post here in the forums your fix for it.

I think it has something to do with the scsi emulation = all hd's = /dev/sd* since 2.6.19 about and this is blocking it or stopping the hardware detector or something greek like this from noticing the correct type of hardware interface = confuse = no load, you get the idea.

PS> the version of paralles for OSX claims you can now play games on it on a mac / osx as they added some directx thingy for this. Hope it comes to the linux version soon and or wine etc.
WarraWarra
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1989
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 21:01
Location: 31.324270, -113.585511

Postby Gigadelic IIDX » Fri Jun 29, 2007 11:14

i been tryin to mess with this on my winXP partition and i got pissed off and gave up
Gigadelic IIDX
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 11:27

Postby WarraWarra » Fri Jun 29, 2007 23:03

AS far as I have seen 3.4 loop2 and 3.3 mini / 3.3 dvd does not run in paralles but it might have changed in the mean time as I have tested it 2+ months back so not sure.
Parallels where supposed to update all versions to current osx paralles version / functions not sure if they did yet.

Xp + vmware and then sabayon on top of vmware should work or it did last time I checked / tried it.

Will try it again in the next few days , parallels , vmware workstation / vmware ace / vmware server.
WarraWarra
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1989
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 21:01
Location: 31.324270, -113.585511

Postby WarraWarra » Sun Jul 01, 2007 4:11

Virtualbox is an alternative to parallels and it is made for linux / osx / windows.

Also Sab 3.4 loop3 works in it 100%

http://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Downloads
WarraWarra
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1989
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 21:01
Location: 31.324270, -113.585511


Return to Off Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests