video converter

If you want to talk about your personal paperweight, you've found the right place!

Moderator: Moderators

video converter

Postby random guy » Tue May 08, 2007 5:38

hey i recently bought an mp4 player (the sandisk sansa). apparently though despite it being called an mp4 player it only plays .mov files. i am a noob at video converting so would someone be able to enlighten me on what program i should try to convert my mp4 files to .mov and how to keep the file size low. thanks for the advice.
<:~-- That random guy from nowhere has made another statement and vanished --~:>
random guy
Advanced Hen

Postby dave_p_b » Tue May 08, 2007 7:17

Hi

Not sure of absolute answer but ffmpeg is a good place to start http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Convert_Video

For Example, ffmpeg -i movie.mp4 movie.mov or
ffmpeg -i movie2.avi movie2.mov

ffmpeg has so many parameters it's hugh. It's worth getting used to though because ffmpeg is what all the other GUI programs use to convert video.
I think ffmpeg/mencoder/trancode are all made by mplayer. (I could be wrong though ;)

Hope this helps

Dave
dave_p_b
Old Dear Hen

Postby random guy » Tue May 08, 2007 17:37

sweet, seems like it will do the trick of converting. i will try it when i get home from work. i am comfortible with command line apps so there is no fear there. i actually prefer them sometimes becasue they can be faster than gui ones.

hopefully it will have switches to lower the quality so i get a smaller file. i dont know a lot about this but i htink i can keep it the same size and just decrease framerate or something to make it smaller. the windows software for it is pretty bad and files tend to end up being like x10 bigger on player than computer.
<:~-- That random guy from nowhere has made another statement and vanished --~:>
random guy
Advanced Hen

Postby dave_p_b » Tue May 08, 2007 17:49

Hi

I've found another program that is like a front end for ffmpeg.