Page 1 of 1

Wine

Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 6:29
by davbeck
Why is it that nobody brags about wine? or that it usually doesn't come preinstalled? It seems to be stable enough. Is it because of legal issues?

Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 17:24
by viking
Well, in the past week I have tried to run 13 exe files under wine. 12 failed and 1 worked. It is not much to brag about is it?

Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 19:07
by davemc
Wine is not noob friendly and although you can eventually get most things to run on it, it takes an aweful lot of trial and error and forum searching. Ive actually never heard of anything to just work by doing "wine autoinstall.exe" or whatever program launches the binary installer. No no no! You've got to follow steps 1 through 457.224423 to the letter and then go back and double check your settings and then pray to whatever entity you call God and then....maaaybe..

Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 20:37
by davbeck
so no legal issues? thats what I needed to know.

Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 6:16
by Appleman1234
Wine works for me, I don't brag about it but for most things it works quite well.

Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 15:03
by davbeck
agreed. if you know haw to put the settings, you can do a lot. still working on quickbooks. thats only because it can't find a certain system file that wine forgot to generate.

Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 23:29
by davemc
davbeck wrote:so no legal issues? thats what I needed to know.
Generally there is no legal issues so long as you have properly purchased any proprietary software. Also, you should read the "terms of service" on your software to ensure that you will not void any agreements by installing your software on Linux or even violate them.

Posted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 1:17
by navman
wine works a lot better on the 32bit OS than it does the 64bit OS

Posted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 10:20
by viking
navman wrote:wine works a lot better on the 32bit OS than it does the 64bit OS
That might be my problem then, as I am using 64 bit Sabayon.

Well, that and the fact I am trying to run some pretty obscure programs.

And then there is the fact that I don't know what I am doing that might have a bearing on it :lol: :lol:

Posted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 14:29
by davemc
That is possible but I dont think probable after version .29.