Cariodock like subdock im plasma

If you want to talk about your personal paperweight, you've found the right place!

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
bahamutsfire
Young Hen
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 19:23

Cariodock like subdock im plasma

Post by bahamutsfire » Wed Dec 21, 2011 1:47

Hi,

i have a little composite problem. Im using Sabayon with kde4 and i hava a cairo-dock on my left side. It shows on bordertouch. I also got "active" borders, on the bottom i got a "expose" view of all open windows. My problem is when i´m holding a presentation with a external beamer i use the panning option in Nvidia-settings to not get down on a low resolution. By accicent i get my border active, so disable composide temporay. But when im disable composite i have a big black border on the left, because of cario-dock.

So im looking vor a plasmoid to repleace cario-dock, but i love the subdock feature. Icon-Tasks did not the job.

grettings
fire

ps: Sorry of my bad englisch. My german is a bit better ;)

User avatar
batvink
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 495
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 11:44
Location: the netherlands

Re: Cariodock like subdock im plasma

Post by batvink » Wed Dec 21, 2011 8:57

Are you using Compiz compositioning,
or the build-in compositioning of KDE, 'cause the build-in can easely be enabled/diseabled
with a keystroke: ALT+SHIFT+F12 (in KDE-settings - Desktop-effects you can fill in what ever combination you want)
see Fitzcarraldo's blog: http://fitzcarraldoblog.wordpress.com/2 ... r-desktop/
Also, you can configure Cairo-dock to NOT show, when windows are maximized,
or overlapping the dock.
Searching for Cairo or avant like docks on plasmoids, i found:
http://kde-look.org/content/show.php/Do ... tent=77501
There are enough alternative docks available, also in the repository.

bahamutsfire
Young Hen
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 19:23

Re: Cariodock like subdock im plasma

Post by bahamutsfire » Wed Dec 21, 2011 10:45

Im using the build in composite.

I know the hotkey and then i have a black border, even if the dock is hide.
batvink wrote: Searching for Cairo or avant like docks on plasmoids, i found:
http://kde-look.org/content/show.php/Do ... tent=77501
There are enough alternative docks available, also in the repository.
This is only a idea for brainstorming, only a pic ;)

With composite:
Image

Composite disabled:
Image

User avatar
batvink
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 495
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 11:44
Location: the netherlands

Re: Cariodock like subdock im plasma

Post by batvink » Wed Dec 21, 2011 13:14

oops, didn't noticed that. Sorry. :-)
i found another way:
this is coming from Arch Wiki:
The background is black
This is most likely caused by not running a composite manager, like Xcompmgr or Cairo Compmgr. Cairo-dock uses the transparency feature of the composite manager to display the dock, and without it the dock will be displayed with a black background. If you are using a desktop environment, simply enable the composite manager or desktop effects in the settings.

An alternative solution that does not require a composite manager is to enable fake transparency in cairo-dock. To do this, right-click the dock and go to Cairo-Dock > Configure > Advanced Mode > System > Composition. Then enable both Emulate composition with fake transparency and Make the config panel transparent.

bahamutsfire
Young Hen
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 19:23

Re: Cariodock like subdock im plasma

Post by bahamutsfire » Wed Dec 21, 2011 13:25

I tried that with the settings no changes. Nah i got live with that, thanks for the help anyway.

Post Reply