What Kind of OS setup do you have?

If you want to talk about your personal paperweight, you've found the right place!

Moderator: Moderators

speedyx
Growing Hen
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:05
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: What Kind of OS setup do you have?

Post by speedyx » Fri Aug 05, 2011 16:36

speedyx wrote:My personal laptop (Sony F) have Sabayon 64bit KDE (main of course! :wink: ), Chakra, openSUSE, another testing partition and Win7
My favorites? Only rolling release with KDE by default!
/*****UPDATE******/

My netbook (Fujitsu amilo) have Sabayon 32bin KDE [even if I can't start ad-hoc shared connections now), I use it as an home server.
My wife's laptop (Sony CW) have Sabayon 64bit KDE :wink: .
The Freedom Technologies Are Available!
I love KDE rolling release distributions that just works!

Raghav_K
Simple Hen
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 12:00
Location: Chennai, India
Contact:

Re: What Kind of OS setup do you have?

Post by Raghav_K » Wed Aug 17, 2011 19:03

Triple boot with Sabayon/Win 7/Hackintosh Lion

i have sabayon linux x64 kde and windows 7(gaming) in a 1Tb hard drive with seperate partitions...
In another 500gb hd i ve installed hackintosh osx lion...

the mac ones i never use, they were just installed to prove to my friends that mac os X ll work in non apple hardware :)
aaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhh open source goodnessssss!!!!!!!!!!

mythus
Baby Hen
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 21:07
Location: Nor'Ova
Contact:

Re: What Kind of OS setup do you have?

Post by mythus » Sun Sep 04, 2011 1:39

Greetings,

On my desktop, at this very moment in time a new and fresh Sabayon 6 KDE. Had to give it a try today, last time I used Sabayon full time was around the time of 3.5 transitioning to 4 (when the background and stuff was red, the DE was KDE 3.5, Spritz was the experimental package manager name and it was like version 0.9 or something like that, and it had that awesome animated sabayon kicker button... good times... good times). Looking good so far, and I've always had a sweet spot for the ole' Italian desert.

On my laptop, which I use primarily as a media player and spreadsheet server for game nights (I role play), it is running Arch Linux with KDE.

My wife's laptop is also running Arch Linux. But because one of her college classes requires Office (they want 2010 but are sufficing for 2007; it's some word processing/formatting class that uses specific commands in Office that don't exist in our favorite linux office program), she regretfully has to have Win XP running in virtual box. le sigh...
Legends of Nor'Ova - Post appocalyptic steampunk-like forum and Legends of Nor'Ova Core Rule Book site

throdon
Advanced Hen
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 13:06
Location: Central valley, California

Re: What Kind of OS setup do you have?

Post by throdon » Sun Sep 04, 2011 2:21

Sabayon 6 CDX using emerge/porthole on one partition and win7 with lubuntu(using wubi) on my other partition.
Multiple live USB distros especially when they get a new release such as archbang, ctkarch, chakra, yeah I lean heavily toward arch .
Troll hunter with an overzealous nature

speedyx
Growing Hen
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:05
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: What Kind of OS setup do you have?

Post by speedyx » Fri Sep 23, 2011 6:03

/*****UPDATE******/

My personal laptop (Sony F12Z) have only Sabayon 64bit KDE
My netbook (Asus eeepc 1001pxd) have Sabayon 64bin LXDE, I use it as an home server.
My wife's laptop (Sony CW) have Sabayon 64bit KDE and Win7 :(

The Asus have only 1 GB ram. I think it is too slow for KDE :cry:
The Freedom Technologies Are Available!
I love KDE rolling release distributions that just works!

msdobrescu
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 719
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:48

Re: What Kind of OS setup do you have?

Post by msdobrescu » Fri Oct 21, 2011 13:00

GA-X58-UD5, Intel i7 920, 6 GB DDR3 RAM, nVidia 560Ti, 4xWD Ent Re3 of 1TB, with Sabayon 7 (Weekly) up to date + Win 7 x64 for gaming and photoshopping.

AsRock A330Ion, Intel Atom 330, 4 GB DDR3 RAM, nVidia Ion, 1xWD 2.5" 650GB, 4xWD20EARS of 2TB, with Mandriva <<updated>> to Mageia 1 as media PC and NAS.

User avatar
batvink
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 495
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 11:44
Location: the netherlands

Re: What Kind of OS setup do you have?

Post by batvink » Fri Oct 21, 2011 23:12

triple boot configuration:
sabayon 6 X64 Core CDX , encrypted, updated to current. KDE 4.7.2 installed (light)
boot partition on a stick, encrypted-password protected. paranoid? yes, i know...:-)

without the stick the system boots windows 7, gamers edition, X64
or windows 8 metro X64 for testing.

DeepDayze
Baby Hen
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 17:34

Re: What Kind of OS setup do you have?

Post by DeepDayze » Mon Oct 31, 2011 17:49

Hello Sabayoners, while I am new to Sabayon been a Linux user for almost 17 years now and cut my Linux teeth on Slackware then moved to Fedora/Red Hat and then onto Debian via Kanotix/sidux/aptosid. Currently I have this setup on my AMD64 system:

1st disk:
Win7 Ultimate
Aptosid (a Debian Sid based distro)
2nd Disk:
Sabayon 7 (a test installation)
Arch Linux (test installation)
3rd Disk:
Media Collection/Personal Documents.

Laptop (Thinkpad T42)
AntiX (a light debian testing based distro that has Fluxbox/IceWM as its main WM's)

I installed Sab 7 x86_64 edition a few days ago and liked what I saw, considering I've been so used to Debian as the package collection in Entropy has practically all that I'll ever use and hope it'll rival Debian's at some pont :D

The equo/entropy/sulfur package managers seem quite intuitive as I am familiar with Synaptic and dpkg/apt-get in the Debian world. Been looking for a distro that's easy to manage and setup as well as being on the cutting edge as Debian seems to be kind of stagnant lately.

Surely there are people who came from Debian/Ubuntu to Sabayon as well. Looking to make Sab 7 work for me and then perhaps take the plunge and dump Debian off the desktop. As KDE seems a bit heavy for the old Thinkpad I'll keep AntiX there for now and maybe look into setting up a custom Sab 7 install on it with a different WM.

Thanks for the goodies and here's to Sabayon taking up a permanent home soon on my big rig :)

res0r9lm2
Simple Hen
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2011 17:52

Re: What Kind of OS setup do you have?

Post by res0r9lm2 » Mon Oct 31, 2011 19:14

I just have Sabayon 7 xfce but strictly portage I removed Sulfur and Entropy.I'm using 5 disks. Boot partition is ext4 485MB for the rest I'm using LVM2

Code: Select all

# pvs
  PV         VG         Fmt  Attr PSize  PFree
  /dev/sda   VolGroup01 lvm2 a--   1.82t    0 
  /dev/sdb1  VolGroup01 lvm2 a--   1.82t    0 
  /dev/sdc1  VolGroup01 lvm2 a--   1.36t    0 
  /dev/sdd2  VolGroup00 lvm2 a--  36.75g    0 
  /dev/sde1  VolGroup00 lvm2 a--  37.25g    0

Code: Select all

# lvs
  LV      VG         Attr   LSize  Origin Snap%  Move Log Copy%  Convert
  lv_home VolGroup00 -wi-ao 32.34g                                      
  lv_root VolGroup00 -wi-ao 35.78g                                      
  lv_swap VolGroup00 -wi-ao  5.88g                                      
  lv_data VolGroup01 -wi-ao  5.00t 

User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
Posts: 3356
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: What Kind of OS setup do you have?

Post by sabayonino » Tue Nov 01, 2011 13:44

:roll: Sabayon And Gentoo

Main PC-Desk : Gentoo (~amd64)

1 PC-Desk : Sabayon (~amd64) (Limbo+Sabyonlinux.org)

1 PC-Desk : Sabayon (~amd64) (Sabayon-Weekly+My Own Repository)

1 Notebook : Gentoo (amd64)

1 Notbook : Sabayon mixed Gentoo (~amd64) (sabayon-limbo + sabayonlinux.org)

1 Notebook : Sabayon (~86) (Sabayonlinux.org+My Own Repository)

:mrgreen:

Post Reply