What Kind of OS setup do you have?

If you want to talk about your personal paperweight, you've found the right place!

Moderator: Moderators

Re: What Kind of OS setup do you have?

Postby chasha420 » Fri Mar 23, 2012 16:02

On my laptop Sabayon + TinyXP.

On my desktop back in my country I only had Sabayon...alas my computer illiterate mother couldn't get it to work (I showed her how to login, etc) but she sent it to a random local shop to install "Windoze"....the noobs there were so dumb didn't even detect any of my EXT4 partitions with their windoze boot cd & decided to wipe it all off :(

All my valuable backups, encrypted partitions to secure stuff...all gone to waste.

Moral of the story...do not at any cost install linux on a computer where u know the user has zero technical knowledge and doesn't have any interest in learning new stuff.
chasha420
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 15:32
Location: /dev/null

Re: What Kind of OS setup do you have?

Postby itlarson » Sun Jul 08, 2012 20:59

Considering I don't use computers at all profesionaly, I sure have a lot of them.

Main desktop:
Sabayon KDE 64 on Intel i3, 4g of ram, Nvidia GT-430

Media PC:
Mythbuntu 10.04 on AMD Athlon 4850e, 4g of ram, Nvidia GT-210, 50" plasma.

Netbook I take with on vacation:
Linux Mint LXDE on an Acer Aspire One, Atom 230, 1/2g of ram.

Old laptop I leave in the lunchroom at work:
LInux Mint LXDE- on a Dell Inspiron something or another, Pentium M, 1/2 g of ram.

Old computer of mine used to play music through the stereo at work:
Kubuntu 8.04 on a Compaq desktop computer, AMD Sempron, 1g ram.

Really old computer:
Crunchbang Linux on a Dell Dimension 2100, Pentium ?, 3/8g ram.

Other Hardware:
Pentium 4 motherboard and 4g of ram.

The last I would like to try fitting in the Dell Dimension case. I would try Sabayon KDE on the resulting system, to see if it runs alright. If it does, it also run well on the Compaq, which needs to be upgraded.

I may end up using Sabayon LXDE on the netbook and laptop, sincd Mint is discontinuing it's LXDE version. At some point, though I may replace them both with a 13" ultrabook running Sabayon KDE.

The media PC will continue to run Mythbuntu. I will upgrade it to 12.04 at some point.
itlarson
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 20:51

Re: What Kind of OS setup do you have?

Postby ratcheer » Sun Jul 08, 2012 21:57

Gmanprime500 wrote:Alright some people are linux 100% and others dual boot, My Laptop is all Sabayon but my desktop Dual Boots Sabayon and Win7 I wanna know what everyone else here is running.


I have a desktop system with a large disk drive which is gpt partitioned. On it are Ubuntu 12.04 Unity, Arch Linux Openbox, Siduction LXDE, Sabayon 9 Fluxbox, and Sabayon 9 Gnome 3. I am in the process of switching my primary system from Ubuntu to the Sabayon Gnome 3.

Tim
ratcheer
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 16:41

Re: What Kind of OS setup do you have?

Postby silentdrgn » Sat Jul 14, 2012 9:19

I am running Sabayon 9 KDE on my laptop and Windows 7 on my desktop. The Windows desktop really just acts as a server and has Windows installed so I can watch Blu Rays and Netflix. Sure wish Linux would get support for both then I can break the ties to the evil empire.
silentdrgn
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 15:59

Re: What Kind of OS setup do you have?

Postby sudo modprobe » Mon Jul 16, 2012 1:43

I have so many computers! Just trying out Sabayon... it is so fast especially KDE.

Work: Win 7 (no choice) / Sabayon 9 KDE on WMWare
Home Server: Ubuntu Server 12.04, KVM with many distro VM's
Home Desktop: Arch
Home Laptop: Mint LXDE
sudo modprobe
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 1:26
Location: Texas, USA

Re: What Kind of OS setup do you have?

Postby eor2004 » Tue Jul 17, 2012 1:16

Switched from Ubuntu< LinuxMint, suse , fedora, and now using sabayon 9 gnome, very good distro!
Sabayon Linux MATE 64-bit
Gigabyte G41M-ES2L-->2gb ram
Intel Pentium Dual Core 2.60ghz-->E5300
WD-6400AAKS-Caviar-SE16-640gb-->XFS filesystem
User avatar
eor2004
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2012 15:46
Location: Puerto Rico

Re: What Kind of OS setup do you have?

Postby markwilson » Tue Jan 22, 2013 18:28

Sabayon KDE 64 + Windows Vista on my Laptop, Crunchbang + Manjaro on my Desktop
markwilson
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 18:42

Re: What Kind of OS setup do you have?

Postby linuxfluesterer » Wed Jan 23, 2013 0:20

I have two computers.
1. Laptop (15.6 " screen) with Core i5, 8 GByte Ram, NVidia GT630M and a fresh Intel ssd with 240 GByte.
On this I installed a daily build Sabayon X (27/12/2012) with KDE 4.9.4. Now upgraded to 4.9.5 and Kernel 3.7.
The size and weight is convenient for carry in my boardcase when I'm in holiday.
In case I need Windows, I can run it in a Virtual Box.
This laptop is my center for all I do with 10 virtual Desktops. KDE makes it possible to run all in one place.

2. Netbook (10 ") with Intel Atom with SL X also for Backup. I need it in case, if 1. laptop fails. There is an NFS connection to my 15" laptop.

I come from SuSE 6.x with KDE 1.1, over Knoppix to Kubuntu 6.4 until 11.10. Then searching new home, begin with Linux Mint KDE (too slow) then for short time I tried Chakra ( :() and began with Sabayon 8 KDE, were I had many problems. With upgrade to Sabayon 9 most problems were solved. Now SL X is pretty fine. I'm rather content.

-Linuxfluesterer (I love KDE ...)
I really hope, that by the Brexit (poor Britain), TTIP will be finally prevented. But don't get tired to talk to your local politician to open eyes for danger to democracy because of TTIP
User avatar
linuxfluesterer
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 706
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 19:47
Location: Germany

Re: What Kind of OS setup do you have?

Postby Ryuno-Ki » Wed Jan 23, 2013 13:49

Desktop PC (see sig):
Ubuntu 10.04 LTS (until April 2013) with GNOME 2
Sabayon Linux X with Openbox (former KDE)
Windows XP (legal version "students edition") in a VirtualBox

My wife is using Ubuntu 12.04 … that's fine since she's not interested in learning how to use Linux much.
HP-Pavilion ◆ AMD Athlon™ 64 Processor 4000+ ◆ GeForce 6150SE nForce 430 ◆ 1 GiB RAM
German Wiki translator ◆ Want to contribute on the wiki? Ask the Bureaucrats!
Please, mark solved threads ◆ Posts unread and unansweredPackage requests ◆ Sabayon XI with MATE
Ryuno-Ki
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 22:15
Location: Southern Germany

Re: What Kind of OS setup do you have?

Postby Chompjil » Sun Jan 27, 2013 0:29

I Have an Hp Pavilion p7-1007c with Sabayon 10 XFCE,Windows7 SP1 64-bit, and previously (pre 2012) i had Ubuntu 11.10,
1 TB FTW! 8)
User avatar
Chompjil
Young Hen
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 3:51
Location: Numeva Town,Unova

PreviousNext

Return to Off Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest