Screen corruption, what the hell?

If you want to talk about your personal paperweight, you've found the right place!

Moderator: Moderators

Screen corruption, what the hell?

Postby Merlin7777 » Thu Apr 10, 2008 3:20

Hey guys, for some reason, after I finished encoding some vids today, I noticed that there were little blue pixels flickering all over the place on my screen. They have a tendency to cluster in area's with black pixels.

I just recently installed the schroedinger gstreamer plugin, could that have caused the problem? Probably not.

Anyways, I will post a video of the problem. Also, the imperfections do not show up on a screen shot, so I have no idea how to fix this. It kind of looks like a bad overclock, except I haven't overclocked a thing.

Edit: here is the video
http://www.sendspace.com/file/ob72l7

Sorry for the shitty quality, but at least you can (sort of) see what I am talking about.
Merlin7777
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 3:47

Re: Screen corruption, what the hell?

Postby watson540 » Thu Apr 10, 2008 3:29

why the download link?? why not put it on youtube?? dunno but everyone else but thats too miuch of a hassle for me..(and who knows it could be some crafty linux hax0r malware!!!) :)
watson540
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 7:28

Re: Screen corruption, what the hell?

Postby Merlin7777 » Thu Apr 10, 2008 3:33

Fine I will post it on youtube.

Here it is. I know that it is blurry but, you can still see the dots (sort of).
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JkhZUi3lRpA&fmt=18
Merlin7777
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 3:47

Re: Screen corruption, what the hell?

Postby Stupot » Thu Apr 10, 2008 5:01

Wow...I've never a stuck pixel problem that bad come out of no where, so I don't think that's your problem. I would try disabling Compiz and just start disabling things until I found the culprit.
Stupot
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1517
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:44
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA

Re: Screen corruption, what the hell?

Postby Merlin7777 » Thu Apr 10, 2008 5:37

Compiz aint running. I have no special acceleration system running. Just the normal X windows system.

And it isn't a stuck pixel, as it is only happening in my Sabayon install. Plus it only starts AFTER I login.
Merlin7777
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 3:47

Re: Screen corruption, what the hell?

Postby Stupot » Thu Apr 10, 2008 7:08

Right, I agree with you... but I'm afraid I'm of no help. I've never heard of this happening due to any software before. If you think that the gstreamer plugin is the problem, try uninstalling it and see if the problem goes away.
Stupot
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1517
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:44
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA

Re: Screen corruption, what the hell?

Postby Merlin7777 » Thu Apr 10, 2008 8:45

I did uninstall it, and the problem persists.
Merlin7777
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 3:47

Re: Screen corruption, what the hell?

Postby joost » Thu Apr 10, 2008 9:16

encoding some vids today


Using what codec/program?
Anyway, got nothing todo with 3.5 Testing so i moved it to Offtopic

Keep in mind, aliens are close.. Maybe they did this?

:albino:
joost
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2548
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Screen corruption, what the hell?

Postby Merlin7777 » Thu Apr 10, 2008 16:50

Okay, I wasn't sure if it was 3.5 or not, so thanks.

Anyways, I was encoding using OggConvert and Thoggen. The codec was (i assume) theora, all though I was trying to use my newly installed schroedinger codec, but both of those programs haven't implemented codec selection yet, so I just used what ever the hell they let me. Basically both encode files that ended up in a OGV container.

However, since I couldn't use the schroedinger codec, (which I installed from a source tarball), I went ahead and did a "make uninstall".

But, I don't think it has to do with the encoding as the dots show up everywhere, especially in dark places like Terminal.
Merlin7777
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 3:47

Re: Screen corruption, what the hell?

Postby Merlin7777 » Fri Apr 11, 2008 11:15

Huh, this is weird. If I reduce my refresh rate to 60, the pixels disappear. But I know for sure that my monitor is rated for atleast 72. however, ATI wasn't letting me select 72. It was just 60, 70 and 75. 75 is where I first noticed the pixels. 70 helped, but they were still there. 60 seems to have fixed, it, but I really would like it higher. The reduced eye strain and what not.
Merlin7777
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 3:47


Return to Off Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest